Electrical Scheduling & Dispatch
Kickserv vs ServiceM8: Scheduling Feature Costs for Electricians
Compares Kickserv's per-user plan tiers against ServiceM8's unlimited-user, job-volume pricing for electrical contractors buying scheduling software.
Neither vendor prices scheduling as a standalone feature: it’s bundled into the base subscription in both cases. Kickserv’s cost is driven by user-count tiers (Start at $60/mo for 5 users, up to Scale at $199/mo for 20), while ServiceM8’s is driven by monthly job volume, with unlimited users on every paid plan. For an electrical contractor, which model is cheaper depends entirely on team size versus job throughput.
Base plan pricing
Both companies publish flat monthly tiers rather than per-seat add-on pricing for scheduling itself.

| Vendor | Plan | Monthly Price | User Cap | Included Volume |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kickserv | Start | $60/mo | 5 users | not stated |
| Kickserv | Run | $119/mo | 10 users | not stated |
| Kickserv | Scale | $199/mo | 20 users | not stated |
| ServiceM8 | Free | $0/mo | 1 user | 30 jobs/mo |
| ServiceM8 | Starter | $29/mo | unlimited | 50 jobs/mo |
| ServiceM8 | Growing | $79/mo | unlimited | 150 jobs/mo |
| ServiceM8 | Premium | $149/mo | unlimited | 500 jobs/mo |
| ServiceM8 | Premium Plus | $349/mo | unlimited | 1,500+ jobs/mo (20c per job over) |
Kickserv’s page does not list a job cap on any tier. ServiceM8’s page does not list a user cap on any tier above Free.
What scheduling costs at different team sizes
Kickserv prices by user count, so cost per head changes as a crew grows. Working the numbers from the stated plan caps:
- 1 user: Start is the only available tier → $60/mo → $60.00 per user
- 3 users: still fits Start → $60/mo → $20.00 per user
- 5 users: exactly fills Start’s cap → $60/mo → $12.00 per user
- 8 users: exceeds Start’s 5-user cap, forcing an upgrade to Run → $119/mo → $14.88 per user
There is no partial-seat option stated on the pricing page. A 6-person crew pays the same $119/mo as a 10-person crew.
Carrying the same math to the top of each Kickserv tier shows how per-user cost resets sharply at every boundary rather than declining smoothly: a Start account fully staffed at 5 users lands at $12.00/user, but the very next hire pushes the account into Run at $119/mo, temporarily spiking per-user cost back up to $19.83 (6 users) before it gradually falls again toward $11.90/user once Run is filled to its 10-user cap. The same pattern repeats moving from Run into Scale — the 11th user resets per-head cost upward before it decays toward $9.95/user at a fully staffed 20-user Scale account.
ServiceM8’s paid plans carry no user limit, so cost per head falls steadily as a team grows, and the plan choice is really a job-volume decision:
- 1 user: Free plan covers this at $0/mo if job volume stays at or under 30/mo, otherwise Starter at $29/mo
- 3 users: Free plan’s 1-user cap rules it out → Starter, $29/mo → $9.67 per user
- 5 users: Starter, $29/mo → $5.80 per user
- 8 users: Starter, $29/mo → $3.63 per user
Extending that curve further: a 10-tech crew on Starter works out to $2.90/user, and the same 10-tech crew on Growing (needed only once job volume crosses the Starter cap, not because of headcount) works out to $7.90/user. Because ServiceM8 never resets per-user cost upward for adding headcount the way Kickserv does at each seat-cap boundary, larger electrical crews consistently see per-tech cost keep falling as the team grows, provided job volume stays within the current tier’s cap.
The trade-off is visible immediately: an 8-person electrical crew on Kickserv pays $119/mo regardless of jobs booked, while the same crew on ServiceM8 pays $29/mo as long as it stays under 50 new jobs per month, then $79/mo for up to 150.
Job volume is ServiceM8’s real cost lever, not headcount
Because ServiceM8 doesn’t charge per user, the plan selection question for a growing electrical business is “how many new jobs do we open per month,” not “how many techs do we have.” A two-truck electrical outfit running 40 service calls a month sits on Starter at $29/mo. Once volume crosses 50 jobs/mo, the account needs Growing at $79/mo for up to 150 jobs. A high-volume shop clearing 1,500+ jobs a month on Premium Plus pays $349/mo base, plus 20c for every job past 1,500, per the ServiceM8 pricing page.

Crossing a job-volume cap by even a single job forces the same jump in monthly fee as crossing it by fifty jobs — the Starter-to-Growing boundary is a flat $50/mo step ($79 − $29) regardless of how far over the 50-job cap the account lands, and the Growing-to-Premium boundary is a flat $70/mo step ($149 − $79) the moment volume exceeds 150 jobs/mo. Contractors running close to a cap should budget for the next tier up rather than assume they’ll stay just under it during a busy season.
SMS reminders factor in too: the Free plan is billed 10c per SMS, while Starter, Growing, Premium, and Premium Plus all include SMS at no per-message cost up to a plan-specific cap. ServiceM8’s own FAQ confirms a “standard SMS overage fee” applies once that cap is exceeded, but the rate isn’t published on the pricing page.
Kickserv, by contrast, doesn’t publish a job cap or SMS fee schedule at all on its pricing page, only that “automated email & text reminders” are included starting on the Start plan.
Kickserv’s Kickback discount, worked out
Kickserv offers a 5% discount on monthly fees to Start, Run, Scale, and Premium plan users who process a minimum dollar amount in online payments each month:
| Plan | Monthly Min. Processing | Discount | Value of Discount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Start | $1,000 | 5% | $3.00/mo off $60 |
| Run | $2,000 | 5% | $5.95/mo off $119 |
| Scale | $3,000 | 5% | $9.95/mo off $199 |
For annual subscribers, the monthly minimum is multiplied by 12, so a Scale-plan electrical contractor on an annual plan would need $36,000 in yearly online payment processing through Kickserv to keep earning the discount. That’s a realistic bar for a multi-truck electrical business but a stretch for a solo operator, since $1,000/mo in online-processed payments on the Start tier assumes most invoices are paid digitally rather than by check or cash.
Applied over a full year of monthly billing, the discount is worth $36.00/year on Start, $71.40/year on Run, and $119.40/year on Scale — small relative to the base subscription cost, but a real offset for contractors already routing card payments through Kickserv’s own processor rather than a separate merchant account.
Annual billing arithmetic
Kickserv states a 20% saving on annual subscriptions across all tiers:

- Start: $60/mo → $48/mo billed annually → $576/year
- Run: $119/mo → $95.20/mo billed annually → $1,142.40/year
- Scale: $199/mo → $159.20/mo billed annually → $1,910.40/year
Measured against paying the standard monthly rate for twelve straight months, that annual discount saves a Start-plan contractor $144.00/year ($720 monthly total vs. $576 annual), a Run-plan contractor $285.60/year ($1,428 monthly total vs. $1,142.40 annual), and a Scale-plan contractor $477.60/year ($2,388 monthly total vs. $1,910.40 annual). The larger the plan, the larger the absolute dollar saving from committing annually, even though the discount rate itself stays fixed at 20% across every tier.
ServiceM8’s pricing page, as provided, does not list an annual billing discount for its five tiers, only the monthly rates shown above.
What could not be verified
Two gaps sit in the source material for this comparison:
- Kickserv’s Premium plan has no listed price. The Kickback rewards section names “Start, Run, Scale, and Premium” as plans eligible for the 5% payment-processing discount, but the pricing page itself only prices Start, Run, and Scale. A Premium tier appears to exist but its monthly fee is not published where we could verify it.
- ServiceM8’s SMS overage rate for paid plans isn’t published. The FAQ confirms a “standard SMS ‘overage’ fee per SMS sent over your plan’s monthly SMS cap” exists, but the per-message rate for Starter, Growing, Premium, or Premium Plus isn’t stated on the pricing page, only the Free plan’s 10c/SMS rate.
Neither of these gaps affects the base scheduling comparison above, but both matter for a full cost projection and should be confirmed directly with sales before signing.
What to check before buying
- Ask Kickserv directly for the Premium plan’s price and user cap, since it’s referenced but not priced on the public page
- Ask ServiceM8 for the exact SMS overage rate on your chosen paid tier if you send a high volume of automated reminders
- Count your actual new-job volume per month before picking a ServiceM8 tier; going over the cap forces an upgrade mid-cycle
- Confirm whether your current online payment processing volume would realistically hit Kickserv’s Kickback minimums before assuming you’ll get the 5% discount
- Check whether Kickserv’s annual 20% saving locks you into a 12-month term, since that detail isn’t spelled out on the pricing page itself
Read next
- Electrical Contractor Software: ServiceM8 vs FieldPulse vs Kickserv
- Kickserv vs ServiceM8: Cheapest Way to Run a Solo Electrician Business
- Best Invoicing Software for Electricians: Published Prices
Also worth reading: ServiceM8 vs FieldPulse: Invoicing Plan Unlock for Electricians
Also worth reading: Best CRM for Roofing Contractors: Published Pricing
Also worth reading: Tradify Cost by Crew Size for Electrical Contractors
Common questions
- Does Kickserv charge extra for scheduling on top of its base plans?
- No. Scheduling is bundled into the Start, Run, and Scale plans at $60/mo, $119/mo, and $199/mo respectively. Kickserv's published pricing page does not list scheduling as a separate line item or add-on. Because scheduling isn't billed separately, the effective per-user cost of scheduling equals the plan fee divided by however many of the plan's seats are actually in use: a fully staffed 5-user Start team pays $12.00 per user for the whole toolset including scheduling, a fully staffed 10-user Run team pays $11.90 per user, and a fully staffed 20-user Scale team pays $9.95 per user.
- Does ServiceM8 charge per user for scheduling?
- No. ServiceM8 does not charge per user on any plan. Scheduling is included on the Free plan (1 user, 30 jobs/mo) and on all paid plans, which allow unlimited users. Cost scales with monthly job volume, not headcount. Splitting the Starter plan's $29/mo across a 5-person crew works out to $5.80 per user, and across a 10-person crew it falls to $2.90 per user — the more techs added to a ServiceM8 account without exceeding the job cap, the lower the per-head cost drops, which is the opposite curve from Kickserv's tiered, user-capped pricing.
- What happens if an electrical contractor needs 6 to 9 field techs on Kickserv?
- Kickserv's Start plan caps at 5 users for $60/mo. A team of 8 techs must move to the Run plan at $119/mo, which caps at 10 users, even though only 8 seats are used. There is no stated option to add a single extra seat to Start. At 8 of 10 available seats filled, the account is effectively paying for 2 unused seats, which puts the true cost per active user at $14.88/mo ($119 ÷ 8) rather than the $11.90/mo rate a fully staffed 10-user team would achieve on the same plan.
- How does Kickserv's Kickback discount work?
- Start, Run, Scale, and Premium plan users get a 5% discount on their monthly fee if they process a minimum amount in online payments each month: $1,000 for Start, $2,000 for Run, $3,000 for Scale. Annual-plan minimums are the monthly figure multiplied by 12. In dollar terms, that discount is worth $3.00/mo ($36/year) on Start, $5.95/mo ($71.40/year) on Run, and $9.95/mo ($119.40/year) on Scale for contractors who clear the processing minimum every month — a benefit that only pays off if a business is already routing most invoice payments through Kickserv's own online payment system rather than checks, cash, or a third-party processor.
- What pricing details are missing from these two vendors' pages?
- Kickserv references a 'Premium' plan tier in its Kickback discount rules but does not publish a price for it anywhere on its pricing page. ServiceM8 confirms a 'standard SMS overage fee' applies once a plan's SMS cap is exceeded, but does not state the per-message rate for paid plans. Both gaps mean an electrical contractor comparing these vendors on paper can price out scheduling and base plan costs precisely, but cannot yet build a complete monthly total that accounts for a Premium-tier Kickserv upgrade or SMS overages on a high-volume ServiceM8 account without contacting sales directly.
Sources — checked Aug 31, 2026
Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.