JobsiteCompare

Electrical Field Service Management

ServiceM8 vs LMN: Setup Fees for Electrical Contractors

Compares published ServiceM8 and LMN plan prices, onboarding fees and per-user costs for electrical contractors weighing field service software.

By TraderX Verified Aug 15, 2026 Published Aug 11, 2026 Updated Aug 15, 2026
ServiceM8 vs LMN: Setup Fees for Electrical Contractors — Field Service Management pricing comparison

ServiceM8 publishes no setup or onboarding fee on its pricing page — plans start at $0/mo and scale to $349/mo. LMN publishes a “one-time onboarding fee” note against its plan prices and lists a separate Launch/Onboarding add-on at $75 one-time plus $30/mo. For an electrical contractor comparing first-year cost, that difference in disclosed fees matters as much as the monthly subscription price.

Plan pricing at a glance

Figures below come directly from each vendor’s published pricing page as of 2026-08-11.

Technician installing solar panels on a roof in Tampa, showcasing clean energy efforts.

PlanMonthly priceUsers includedNotes
ServiceM8 Free$0/mo130 jobs/mo, 10 AI uses/day
ServiceM8 Starter$29/moUnlimited50 jobs/mo, unlimited AI uses/day
ServiceM8 Growing$79/moUnlimited150 jobs/mo
ServiceM8 Premium$149/moUnlimited500 jobs/mo
ServiceM8 Premium Plus$349/moUnlimited1,500+ jobs/mo, extra jobs at $0.20 each
LMN Starter$297/mo1 office/crew lead + 5 crewAdditional licenses “available for a fee,” amount not published
LMN Professional$648/mo3 office/crew lead + 15 crewAdditional licenses “available for a fee,” amount not published
LMN EnterpriseContact sales100+No public price

Source: ServiceM8 pricing, LMN pricing

What ServiceM8 charges to get started

ServiceM8’s pricing page advertises a 14-day free trial with full feature access and states plainly there is “no lock-in” — a contractor can change plans at any time, with unused credit from the previous plan applied to the new one on a pro-rata basis. No setup fee, onboarding fee, or implementation charge appears anywhere on the page. The only per-user restriction is on the Free plan, capped at 1 user; every paid plan (Starter through Premium Plus) allows unlimited user logins at the flat monthly price shown above.

Add-on costs that could affect a real setup: Auto Time Tracking and Bundles are each listed at “From $19/mo,” and SMS messaging is free within plan limits but billed at 10 cents per SMS when a plan’s cap is exceeded (Free plan). Additional jobs beyond a plan’s monthly allowance are only priced on Premium Plus, at 20 cents per job.

What LMN charges to get started

LMN’s pricing page marks its Starter and Professional monthly prices with an asterisk reading “*After a one-time onboarding fee.” Separately, the same page lists a line item called “LMN Launch / Onboarding — Dedicated new customer training to set you and your team up for success with LMN,” priced at “$75 one-time fee + $30/mo,” and marks this item “Available as add-on” under all three plan columns (Starter, Professional, Enterprise).

Hands-on electronics repair with tools, circuit board, and soldering station on workspace.

The page does not clarify whether the $75 one-time plus $30/mo Launch/Onboarding line is the same “one-time onboarding fee” referenced by the asterisk on the plan prices, or a separate optional service on top of a different mandatory onboarding charge. Because this is ambiguous on the scraped page, contractors should ask LMN sales directly to confirm total first-month cost before signing.

LMN’s Starter and Professional prices also do not include unlimited users. Starter covers 1 office/crew lead license plus 5 crew member licenses (6 total); Professional covers 3 office/crew lead licenses plus 15 crew member licenses (18 total). Additional licenses beyond those included are “available for a fee,” but no dollar figure is published.

Cost at 1, 3, 5, and 8 users

Because ServiceM8 charges a flat monthly fee regardless of user count on any paid plan, its per-user cost falls as a crew grows. LMN charges by license count with a fixed number of licenses bundled per plan, so its effective per-user cost is fixed within a plan’s included range and undefined beyond it (no published overage rate).

UsersServiceM8 Starter ($29/mo flat)ServiceM8 Growing ($79/mo flat)LMN Starter ($297/mo, 6 licenses included)LMN Professional ($648/mo, 18 licenses included)
1$29.00$79.00$297.00 (license unused)$648.00 (license unused)
3$9.67/user$26.33/user$99.00/user$216.00/user
5$5.80/user$15.80/user$59.40/user$129.60/user
8$3.63/user$9.88/userExceeds 6 included; extra license fee not published$36.00/user

At 5 users, ServiceM8 Starter works out to $5.80 per user per month against LMN Starter’s $59.40 per user per month on published figures — but the two products are not directly comparable feature-for-feature; LMN’s plans bundle estimating, budgeting and overhead recovery tools that ServiceM8’s base plans do not list. At 8 users, an electrical contractor on LMN Starter would need additional licenses beyond the 6 included, at a fee LMN does not disclose on its pricing page — this is a real gap a buyer needs to close with LMN sales before budgeting.

Break-even and first-year cost

Using only the fees each vendor discloses:

An industrial worker wearing a hard hat operating a lift platform for maintenance tasks in an outdoor setting.

  • ServiceM8 Starter, 5 users, one year: $29/mo × 12 = $348. No setup fee shown, so $348 is the full disclosed first-year cost.
  • ServiceM8 Growing, 5 users, one year: $79/mo × 12 = $948.
  • LMN Starter, 6 licenses, one year, assuming the Launch/Onboarding add-on applies: ($297/mo × 12) + $75 one-time + ($30/mo × 12) = $3,564 + $75 + $360 = $3,999.
  • LMN Professional, 18 licenses, one year, same onboarding assumption: ($648/mo × 12) + $75 + $360 = $7,776 + $75 + $360 = $8,211.

These LMN totals assume the Launch/Onboarding add-on is taken and billed for a full 12 months; the page does not state whether the $30/mo continues indefinitely or for a fixed term, so this is presented as a disclosed-rate calculation, not a confirmed annual figure. Contractors should ask LMN whether the $30/mo onboarding line has an end date.

What could not be verified

Both vendors’ pricing pages were fetched in full for this article, and no vendor from the request list was missing a public price. Specific items on each page that remain unclear from the source text itself:

  • LMN additional license fee — both Starter and Professional plans state extra licenses are “available for a fee,” with no dollar amount published.
  • LMN Enterprise price — listed only as “Contact sales for pricing,” with a stated minimum of 100 users.
  • Whether LMN’s Launch/Onboarding add-on is mandatory — the asterisk note on plan prices and the separate add-on listing are not reconciled on the page.
  • LMN’s fit for electrical work — the source page’s “Who We Serve” content lists full-service landscaping, landscape design and build, landscaping maintenance, tree care and snow and ice. Electrical is not mentioned anywhere on the LMN pricing page supplied for this article.

What to check before buying

  1. Ask LMN directly whether the $75 one-time plus $30/mo Launch/Onboarding charge is required for new accounts or genuinely optional, and get the total first-invoice amount in writing.
  2. Confirm LMN’s per-license fee for crew members beyond the 6 (Starter) or 18 (Professional) included in each plan, since this is not published.
  3. Confirm with LMN whether its budgeting, estimating and job-costing tools are built for electrical scope of work, since its public pricing page markets to landscaping and tree care trades.
  4. If evaluating ServiceM8, check current job-per-month usage against the Starter plan’s 50-job cap and the Growing plan’s 150-job cap before committing, since exceeding a plan’s job allowance (outside Premium Plus) prompts an upgrade rather than an overage charge.
  5. Factor in ServiceM8 add-ons separately if needed — Auto Time Tracking and Bundles are each listed “From $19/mo” and are not included in the base plan price.

Also worth reading: Tradify Cost by Crew Size for Electrical Contractors


Common questions

Does ServiceM8 charge a setup or onboarding fee?
ServiceM8's pricing page does not list a setup or onboarding fee. It advertises a 14-day free trial with full feature access, and states there are no lock-ins, with unused credit from a previous plan applied pro-rata to a new plan. No one-time charge is published anywhere on the pricing page.
Does LMN charge a setup fee?
LMN's pricing page notes plan prices apply 'after a one-time onboarding fee' and separately lists an add-on called LMN Launch/Onboarding priced at $75 one-time plus $30/mo. The page does not make clear whether every new account must pay this or whether it is optional, so contractors should confirm directly with LMN sales.
Is ServiceM8 cheaper than LMN for a small electrical crew?
On published list prices, yes. ServiceM8's Starter plan is $29/mo with unlimited users and 50 jobs per month. LMN's Starter plan is $297/mo and includes 1 office/crew lead license plus 5 crew member licenses, with additional licenses priced separately and not disclosed on the page.
Does LMN's pricing page mention electrical contractors?
No. LMN's pricing and 'Who We Serve' content on the scraped page refers to landscaping, landscape design and build, landscaping maintenance, tree care and snow and ice — not electrical trades. Electrical contractors considering LMN should confirm with LMN directly whether its estimating and job costing tools fit electrical work.
What happens if a ServiceM8 user goes over their monthly job limit?
If the monthly plan resets before more jobs are needed, job credits reset automatically. Otherwise, ServiceM8 prompts the account to upgrade to a higher plan. The Premium Plus plan additionally allows extra jobs beyond its 1,500+ monthly allowance at 20 cents per job.

Sources — checked Aug 15, 2026

  1. ServiceM8 — Pricing
  2. LMN — Pricing

Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.