JobsiteCompare

HVAC Field Service Management

ServiceM8 vs ServiceTitan: GPS Tracking Plans for HVAC Crews

Compares ServiceM8's published GPS auto time tracking add-on pricing against ServiceTitan's unpublished per-technician packages for HVAC crews.

By TraderX Verified Aug 26, 2026 Published Aug 26, 2026
ServiceM8 vs ServiceTitan: GPS Tracking Plans for HVAC Crews — Field Service Management pricing comparison

ServiceM8 publishes a specific price for GPS-based tracking: its Auto Time Tracking add-on starts from $19/mo on any plan. ServiceTitan does not publish a price for GPS tracking, or for any package, on its pricing page. Every ServiceTitan tier is marked “Request Pricing,” so a direct dollar comparison is not possible from published sources. That gap matters most for HVAC crews trying to budget ahead of a sales call: one vendor gives you a number to plug into a spreadsheet today, the other requires a quote before you can do the math at all.

What “GPS tracking” means on each platform

ServiceM8’s pricing page describes a feature called Auto Time Tracking: “Let ServiceM8 automatically Clock On & Off shifts, Check In & Out of jobs throughout the day, and include travel time from your previous location, using GPS & job data.” This is listed as an add-on priced “From $19/mo” and it appears against every plan tier, Free through Premium Plus, in ServiceM8’s comparison table.

Close-up of hands using a calculator on a file folder, wearing a cozy robe.

ServiceTitan’s pricing page does not use the term GPS anywhere in its published plan descriptions. Its three packages, Standard, Essentials and The Works, list Dispatching, Scheduling, Field Mobile App and similar categories, and the page states pricing is “per-technician,” but no rate, minimum or GPS-specific line item is published. Every plan on that page ends in “Request Pricing” rather than a number.

ServiceM8 plan and add-on pricing

PlanMonthly PriceUsersJobs per MonthAuto Time Tracking (GPS) Add-on
Free$0/mo130From $19/mo
Starter$29/moUnlimited50From $19/mo
Growing$79/moUnlimited150From $19/mo
Premium$149/moUnlimited500From $19/mo
Premium Plus$349/moUnlimited1500+From $19/mo

Desk setup showing calculator, cash, coins, and financial notes for budgeting.

Source: ServiceM8 pricing. Prices are in USD. The Free plan is limited to 1 user; every paid tier is unlimited users. Additional jobs beyond the Premium Plus allotment of 1500 are billed at 20 cents per job. Text messaging is 10 cents per SMS on the Free plan and free (included) on Starter, Growing, Premium and Premium Plus.

The arithmetic: what GPS tracking actually costs on ServiceM8

Because ServiceM8’s paid plans are not priced per user, the Auto Time Tracking add-on cost does not change as an HVAC crew grows, as long as the plan’s job cap is not exceeded. Take the Growing plan as an example:

A smartphone displaying a calculator app on financial charts, showcasing revenue analysis.

  • 1 technician: $79/mo (Growing) + $19/mo (GPS add-on) = $98/mo
  • 3 technicians: $79/mo + $19/mo = $98/mo
  • 5 technicians: $79/mo + $19/mo = $98/mo
  • 8 technicians: $79/mo + $19/mo = $98/mo

The number that actually moves with crew size is jobs, not users. An 8-tech HVAC crew running, say, 20 jobs a week (roughly 87/month) would exceed the Growing plan’s 150-job cap only if job volume per tech is higher; a crew that size would more realistically need Premium (500 jobs/month) at $149/mo + $19/mo = $168/mo flat, regardless of whether it is 5 or 8 techs.

On the Free plan, the same $19/mo add-on applies, but the plan itself is capped at 1 user and 30 jobs/month, so it does not scale to a multi-tech HVAC crew at all.

ServiceTitan’s per-technician model means, by definition, that cost rises with headcount, but the source page gives no rate to run that arithmetic against. A reader cannot calculate a 1/3/5/8-technician ServiceTitan cost from what ServiceTitan currently publishes.

Annual totals: every ServiceM8 tier with GPS tracking included

Multiplying each plan-plus-add-on monthly total by 12 gives the annual figure a crew would actually budget against, assuming monthly billing and no job overages:

PlanMonthly Total (plan + $19/mo add-on)Annual Total (×12)
Free$0 + $19 = $19/mo$228/yr
Starter$29 + $19 = $48/mo$576/yr
Growing$79 + $19 = $98/mo$1,176/yr
Premium$149 + $19 = $168/mo$2,016/yr
Premium Plus$349 + $19 = $368/mo$4,416/yr

Because none of these tiers charge per user, the annual figure above is the same whether the crew running on that plan has 1 technician or a full unlimited-user roster — the only variable that forces a change is monthly job volume against the 30/50/150/500/1,500+ caps. A crew on Free that hits its 1-user ceiling has to move to Starter regardless of dollar budget, since Free structurally cannot support a second technician.

ServiceTitan’s per-technician model means its annual total, by definition, scales with headcount in a way none of these ServiceM8 figures do — but since no per-technician rate is published, there is no ServiceTitan column to build here. Anyone trying to compare “cost per tech per year” across both vendors can only complete one half of that comparison from public data.

Break-even math: when a job-volume upgrade costs more than it looks

Because ServiceM8’s tiers are gated by job count rather than user count, the meaningful break-even question isn’t “how many technicians before I need to upgrade” — it’s “how many jobs.” Moving from Growing to Premium because job volume crossed 150/month adds $70/mo to the base plan ($149 − $79), or $840/yr, independent of the $19/mo GPS add-on which stays flat across every tier. Moving from Premium to Premium Plus because job volume crossed 500/month adds $200/mo ($349 − $149), or $2,400/yr.

Compare that to staying on a lower tier and paying the Premium Plus overage rate: at 20 cents per job, a crew would need to run 1,000 extra jobs in a month before overage fees ($200) matched the $200/mo difference between Premium and Premium Plus — though that overage rate is explicitly stated to apply only above the Premium Plus 1,500-job allotment, not as an option on lower tiers. In practice, the published page describes lower-tier overflow as triggering an upgrade prompt rather than a per-job charge, so a Growing-plan crew that occasionally spikes past 150 jobs doesn’t have a stated per-job buy-up option — it has to either absorb the wait for the monthly reset or move to Premium.

Trade-offs implied by the two pricing models

ServiceM8’s flat-fee, unlimited-user structure trades user-count flexibility for job-count rigidity: a two-person HVAC outfit and an eight-person one pay identically on the same tier, but both are boxed in by the same job ceiling. That makes ServiceM8’s total cost fully computable in advance — the only unknown is which job-volume tier a growing crew will eventually need, not how many people it can afford to add.

ServiceTitan’s per-technician structure does the opposite: it scales cleanly with headcount in principle, since presumably adding a technician adds a known increment to the bill, but that increment is never disclosed on the public page. The practical trade-off for a buyer is opacity versus rigidity — ServiceM8 tells you the number but not how it will feel at 9 technicians on an 8-person-priced Growing plan bumping against a 150-job cap; ServiceTitan tells you the shape of the pricing (per-technician) but withholds the number needed to run any of the arithmetic above.

What could not be verified

ServiceTitan does not publish per-technician rates, minimum seat counts, setup fees, or any GPS/location-tracking-specific pricing on its pricing page. All three packages (Standard, Essentials, The Works) are gated behind “Request Pricing.” Nothing in the scraped ServiceTitan text ties a dollar figure to dispatching, the field mobile app, or any tracking feature. Any number claiming to be “ServiceTitan’s GPS tracking cost” beyond what is written above should be treated as unverified until ServiceTitan publishes it directly or provides a quote in writing.

Similarly, ServiceM8’s $19/mo figure is described as a starting (“From”) price for the add-on; the source text does not specify what would cause the add-on to cost more than $19/mo for a given business. It also does not specify whether the add-on price changes if a business has, say, 8 technicians all using Auto Time Tracking simultaneously versus 1 — the flat-fee framing on the pricing page implies it does not, but that is an inference, not a stated guarantee.

What to check before buying

  • Ask ServiceTitan for a written quote that separates the base per-technician package price from any add-on or GPS/location tracking cost, since none of that is on the public pricing page.
  • Confirm with ServiceM8 whether the $19/mo Auto Time Tracking add-on is a flat business-wide fee or scales with user count, since the page lists it as “From $19/mo” without a per-user breakdown.
  • Check your realistic monthly job volume per technician against ServiceM8’s job caps (30/50/150/500/1500+) before picking a plan, since going over triggers an upgrade prompt or, on Premium Plus, a 20 cents-per-job overage fee.
  • Run the annual math (monthly total × 12) for the ServiceM8 tier you expect to land on before committing, rather than judging only the monthly sticker price — the gap between Growing ($1,176/yr) and Premium ($2,016/yr) is $840/yr, and between Premium and Premium Plus it is $2,400/yr.
  • If SMS-based dispatch alerts or customer texts matter to your workflow, note that SMS is 10 cents/message only on ServiceM8’s Free plan; it is included free on every paid tier.
  • Get any ServiceTitan quote in writing before committing, since package contents (Standard vs Essentials vs The Works) are described qualitatively on the pricing page but not priced.

Common questions

Does ServiceM8 charge extra for GPS tracking?
Yes. ServiceM8's Auto Time Tracking feature, which uses GPS and job data to clock staff on and off and record travel time, is listed as an add-on starting from $19/mo on every plan, including the Free plan, according to ServiceM8's pricing page. That $19/mo sits on top of the base plan fee, so on Starter the all-in monthly cost is $29 + $19 = $48/mo, on Growing it is $79 + $19 = $98/mo, on Premium it is $149 + $19 = $168/mo, and on Premium Plus it is $349 + $19 = $368/mo. Because the add-on price is listed as a starting figure ('From $19/mo'), a business with unusual tracking needs (more vehicles, more granular reporting, etc.) should confirm in writing whether $19/mo is the final number or a floor.
Does ServiceTitan publish a price for GPS tracking?
No. ServiceTitan's pricing page lists three packages (Standard, Essentials, The Works) with a dispatch and mobile feature set, but every package is marked 'Request Pricing' with no dollar figures. ServiceTitan describes its model as per-technician but does not publish the rate, so there is no way to calculate a 1-tech, 3-tech, 5-tech, or 8-tech ServiceTitan total from the public page. Any figure quoted for ServiceTitan's GPS or location-tracking cost has to come from a sales conversation, not the website.
Is ServiceM8 priced per user?
No, except on the Free plan, which is capped at 1 user. Starter, Growing, Premium and Premium Plus all include unlimited users at a flat monthly price, per ServiceM8's plan comparison table. That means the arithmetic for a growing HVAC crew is simple: the plan fee plus the $19/mo GPS add-on stays the same whether the crew has 1 technician or 8, and the number that actually changes with growth is the monthly job count, which is capped at 30, 50, 150, 500, and 1,500+ jobs on Free, Starter, Growing, Premium, and Premium Plus respectively.
What happens if an HVAC crew goes over its ServiceM8 job limit?
If the monthly plan resets before the crew needs more jobs, job credits reset automatically. Otherwise ServiceM8 prompts an upgrade. On Premium Plus specifically, additional jobs beyond the 1500 included are billed at 20 cents per job, meaning 100 extra jobs in a month would add $20, and 500 extra jobs would add $100, on top of the $349/mo plan fee and $19/mo GPS add-on. On the lower tiers (Free, Starter, Growing, Premium), the published page describes an upgrade prompt rather than a per-job overage charge, so a crew that consistently runs over its cap should budget for moving up a full tier rather than paying per job.

Sources — checked Aug 26, 2026

  1. ServiceM8 — Pricing
  2. ServiceTitan — Pricing

Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.