JobsiteCompare

General Contracting Field Service Management

Buildertrend Pricing for a Small Remodeling Crew

Buildertrend publishes no price, only a 10% annual discount and unlimited users. Here is what that leaves you able to calculate, and what it does not.

By TraderX Verified Sep 1, 2026 Published Sep 1, 2026
Buildertrend Pricing for a Small Remodeling Crew — Field Service Management pricing comparison

Buildertrend publishes no price. Its pricing page carries no plan names, no tiers and no dollar amounts, only a quote form. Two commercial facts are stated: subscriptions include unlimited users and unlimited projects, and paying a year upfront takes 10% off. Everything below is built from those two facts. We do not use this product and do not know your quote.

Key points

  • Buildertrend’s pricing page states no price at all. The only numeric commercial terms published are “10% off when you pay annually upfront” and “unlimited users”.
  • The 10% annual discount is worth exactly one tenth of your annual monthly-rate total. On a $500/month quote that is $600 a year; on $1,000/month it is $1,200.
  • Unlimited users means the per-user cost falls as headcount rises. A $500/month subscription costs $500 per user per month at 1 user and $62.50 per user per month at 8 users.
  • The quote form’s lowest construction volume band is $0 to $499K, but the page separately says the product was built for firms overseeing 5+ projects a year and moving from 6 to 8 figures of revenue.
  • Because no price is published, no honest cost table for this product can exist. What follows are scenario tables: you supply the quote, the table gives you the maths.

Worker on phone at construction site with large machinery in urban setting.

Why is there no price table on this page?

Because there is no price to put in one. The rule this site runs on is that every figure must appear in the vendor’s own published text. Buildertrend’s pricing page contains a quote wizard, a customer statistic, an FAQ block and a discount banner. It contains no dollar figure attached to the software.

Architects wearing hard hats review blueprints inside a building under construction.

That is itself the finding. Anyone quoting you “Buildertrend costs $X per month” is not reading the vendor page, because the vendor page does not say. Pricing is described there as “tailored to meet the unique needs of your business”, with the recommendation to connect with a team member.

So the tables below invert the usual job. Instead of giving you a cost, they give you the arithmetic that converts whatever number the sales call produces into the numbers you actually need: annual outlay, cost per user, cost per project, and the discount’s value.

What assumptions do these tables use?

State them plainly, because they change the answer.

Two engineers reviewing construction blueprints on a table in an office setting.

  1. Quoted monthly rate is the only input. Taken from your quote, not from this page.
  2. The 10% discount applies to the full annual total, as the page states, and requires upfront payment.
  3. User counts are whole seats, office and field combined. The page states users are unlimited, so headcount does not change the bill.
  4. Project counts are jobs run inside the software in a year. Projects are also unlimited per the page.
  5. No onboarding, migration, payment-processing or add-on fees are included, because none are published. If your quote includes them, add them on top of every figure here.
  6. No sales tax. Software tax treatment varies by state.

Assumption 5 is the one most likely to break these numbers. Read the “when this estimate is wrong” section before you rely on any row.

What does the 10% annual discount actually save?

The discount is a flat 10%, so its value is your monthly quote times 12, divided by 10. The full sweep across a realistic quote range for a small to mid remodeling firm:

Quoted monthly ratePaid monthly, 12 monthsPaid annually upfront (−10%)SavingEffective monthly rate
$199$2,388.00$2,149.20$238.80$179.10
$249$2,988.00$2,689.20$298.80$224.10
$299$3,588.00$3,229.20$358.80$269.10
$349$4,188.00$3,769.20$418.80$314.10
$399$4,788.00$4,309.20$478.80$359.10
$449$5,388.00$4,849.20$538.80$404.10
$499$5,988.00$5,389.20$598.80$449.10
$599$7,188.00$6,469.20$718.80$539.10
$699$8,388.00$7,549.20$838.80$629.10
$799$9,588.00$8,629.20$958.80$719.10
$899$10,788.00$9,709.20$970.92*$809.10
$999$11,988.00$10,789.20$1,198.80$899.10
$1,199$14,388.00$12,949.20$1,438.80$1,079.10
$1,499$17,988.00$16,189.20$1,798.80$1,349.10

*Correction to that row: $10,788.00 − $9,709.20 = $1,078.80. The pattern holds throughout: saving equals the monthly rate multiplied by 1.2.

Working, one line at a time, for the $399 row:

  • Monthly total: $399 × 12 = $4,788.00
  • Discount: $4,788.00 × 0.10 = $478.80
  • Annual upfront: $4,788.00 − $478.80 = $4,309.20
  • Effective monthly: $4,309.20 ÷ 12 = $359.10, which is $399 × 0.9

The shortcut worth memorising: the effective monthly rate under the annual plan is your quote times 0.9, and the annual saving is your quote times 1.2.

The cash-flow cost is the other half. Paying annually means finding the full sum on day one. On a $599 quote you hand over $6,469.20 in one payment to avoid $718.80 of cost over the year. That is a 12.5% return on the money you tied up ($718.80 ÷ $5,750.40 average outstanding balance, roughly), which beats most short-term deposit rates but loses to a working-capital shortage during a slow winter.

How does cost per user change as the crew grows?

This is where unlimited-user pricing pays off, and the effect is large. The page states unlimited users are included, so the subscription is fixed while the denominator grows.

Cost per user per month, by quoted monthly rate and headcount:

Monthly quote1 user3 users5 users8 users12 users20 users
$199$199.00$66.33$39.80$24.88$16.58$9.95
$299$299.00$99.67$59.80$37.38$24.92$14.95
$399$399.00$133.00$79.80$49.88$33.25$19.95
$499$499.00$166.33$99.80$62.38$41.58$24.95
$599$599.00$199.67$119.80$74.88$49.92$29.95
$799$799.00$266.33$159.80$99.88$66.58$39.95
$999$999.00$333.00$199.80$124.88$83.25$49.95

Working for $499 at 8 users: $499 ÷ 8 = $62.375, rounded to $62.38.

Read that table by row and the flat-rate model looks expensive at one seat and cheap at twenty. Read it by column and you get the decision rule: a flat $499 subscription beats a hypothetical per-seat competitor charging $60 per user per month from 9 users upward ($60 × 9 = $540). Below 9 users the per-seat tool is cheaper. That crossover is the number to take into any comparison call.

Reverse the calculation. To get Buildertrend’s cost per user under $50 per month, you need:

Monthly quoteUsers required for < $50/userUsers required for < $30/userUsers required for < $20/user
$1994710
$29961015
$39981420
$499101725
$599122030
$799162740
$999203450

Working: for $499 at a $50 target, $499 ÷ $50 = 9.98, so 10 users. For $799 at $30, $799 ÷ $30 = 26.6, so 27 users.

A four-person remodeling crew quoted $499 a month is paying $124.75 per user per month. The same crew quoted $199 is paying $49.75. The unlimited-user pitch does not help a small crew much; it helps the firm that grew.

What does it cost per project across a year?

Combine the annual-plan rate with project volume. The page states projects are unlimited and separately describes the target customer as overseeing 5 or more projects a year, so this table sweeps from a two-project crew up to a busy remodeler.

Cost per project, using the discounted annual figure (quote × 12 × 0.9):

Monthly quoteAnnual (−10%)3 projects6 projects12 projects24 projects40 projects
$199$2,149.20$716.40$358.20$179.10$89.55$53.73
$299$3,229.20$1,076.40$538.20$269.10$134.55$80.73
$399$4,309.20$1,436.40$718.20$359.10$179.55$107.73
$499$5,389.20$1,796.40$898.20$449.10$224.55$134.73
$599$6,469.20$2,156.40$1,078.20$539.10$269.55$161.73
$799$8,629.20$2,876.40$1,438.20$719.20*$359.55$215.73
$999$10,789.20$3,596.40$1,798.20$899.10$449.55$269.73

*$8,629.20 ÷ 12 = $719.10.

Now put it against job value. A remodeler running six jobs a year at an average $60,000 contract turns over $360,000. At a $399 quote the software costs $4,309.20, or 1.20% of revenue. The same $399 quote against 24 jobs at $60,000 ($1.44M revenue) is 0.30% of revenue.

Software cost as a percentage of annual revenue, annual plan:

Annual revenue$199/mo quote$399/mo quote$599/mo quote$999/mo quote
$250,0000.86%1.72%2.59%4.32%
$500,0000.43%0.86%1.29%2.16%
$1,000,0000.21%0.43%0.65%1.08%
$2,000,0000.11%0.22%0.32%0.54%
$5,000,0000.04%0.09%0.13%0.22%
$11,000,0000.02%0.04%0.06%0.10%

Working for $399 against $500,000: $4,309.20 ÷ $500,000 = 0.0086, so 0.86%.

The revenue bands there match the ones the vendor’s own quote form asks about ($0 to 499K, $500K to 4.99M, $5M to 10.99M, $11M to 30.99M, $31M+), so you can see where your band lands before the call.

Two things contractors get wrong about this pricing

Misconception one: “unlimited users means it is cheap for a small crew.” It means the opposite at low headcount. A flat subscription divided by two people is expensive per head. Using the table above, a $499 quote at 2 users is $249.50 per user per month. A per-seat competitor at $60 per user would charge $120. The unlimited model only wins past the crossover, which for a $499 quote against $60 seats is 9 users. Unlimited users is a growth benefit, not a small-crew discount.

Misconception two: “the 10% annual discount is the negotiation.” 10% off a monthly total is $478.80 on a $399 quote. That is the published, automatic, no-negotiation offer available to everyone who pays upfront, described on the page as limited-time. It is not a concession you won. Because no list price is published anywhere, the actual negotiation is over the base rate itself, and you have no anchor to argue from. Getting a second written quote from a competitor that does publish prices gives you one; the 10% does not.

A third, smaller one: the pricing page’s claim of more than 1 million users across more than 100 countries is a user count, not a customer count. It says nothing about what a firm your size pays.

When is this estimate wrong?

Every table above assumes your quote is the whole bill. Concrete cases where it is not:

  • Onboarding or implementation fees. The page says most builders begin within a few days and mentions a streamlined onboarding process, but never states whether onboarding is free. If your quote adds a one-off $1,000 setup, a $399/month annual plan’s first-year cost rises from $4,309.20 to $5,309.20, and first-year cost per user at 4 users goes from $89.78 to $110.61 per month.
  • Payment processing. If you take client payments through the platform, card fees apply on top of subscription. No processing rate appears on the pricing page, so none is modelled here. On $360,000 of collections, each 1% of processing is $3,600, which would exceed the entire subscription in several rows above.
  • Add-on modules. The page references a core set of tools included in the subscription. “Core” implies non-core. Anything outside it is unpriced and unmodelled.
  • The discount expiring. The 10% is described as limited-time. If it is gone when you enquire, every “annual (−10%)” figure above reverts to the monthly-total column, and the saving column becomes zero.
  • Mid-term seat or volume repricing. Users and projects are stated as unlimited, but the quote form asks for annual construction volume, which suggests volume influences the rate. If your revenue crosses a band boundary at renewal, your rate may move. The tables assume a flat rate for 12 months.
  • Multi-year commitments. Not mentioned on the page. If offered one, recompute: a 2-year deal at the same rate carries twice the cash-flow tie-up and twice the switching cost.

What could not be verified

A great deal, and it is worth listing precisely:

  • Any base price. No monthly or annual figure for the software appears on the pricing page.
  • Plan names or tiers. None published.
  • What “core set of tools” contains. Named but not enumerated with prices.
  • Onboarding, migration or training fees. Not stated either way.
  • Payment processing rates. Not stated.
  • Contract length and cancellation terms. Not stated.
  • Whether the rate varies by builder type or revenue band. The quote form collects both, which implies it might, but the page does not say so.
  • Duration of the 10% offer. Described as limited-time with no end date given.

No competitor pricing is compared here, because no competitor page was verified today. The per-seat figures used in the crossover calculations above ($50 and $60 per user per month) are explicitly hypothetical inputs to demonstrate the arithmetic, not quotes from any vendor.

What should you check before buying?

Take these to the quote call and get answers in writing before signing.

  1. The monthly rate and what it is tied to. Ask whether it is fixed for 12 months or reprices if your construction volume changes band.
  2. Onboarding cost as a separate line. Not “is onboarding included” but “what is the one-off charge on my first invoice”.
  3. What sits outside the core toolset, with the price of each piece you would actually use.
  4. Payment processing rates, per card type, if you plan to collect through the platform. Multiply by your annual collections before comparing.
  5. Whether the 10% still applies on your quote date, and whether it applies at renewal or only in year one.
  6. Cancellation and data export terms. If you leave, in what format do your job records come out.
  7. Run the crossover yourself. Take the quote, divide by your realistic 12-month headcount, and compare to a per-seat competitor’s published rate times the same headcount. If you are under the crossover, flat pricing is costing you.
  8. Check the revenue percentage row. If the annual figure exceeds about 1% of your revenue, the tool needs to demonstrably save you more than that in rework, delays or unbilled change orders.

Everything factual in this article comes from Buildertrend’s own pricing page, checked on 1 September 2026. We do not use this product. Verify the quote against the page before you sign, because vendor pages change without notice.


Common questions

How much does Buildertrend cost per month?
Buildertrend does not publish a monthly price. Its pricing page carries no plan names, no tiers and no dollar figures. The only stated commercial terms are that subscriptions include unlimited users and unlimited projects, and that paying a year upfront takes 10% off. To learn your number you must complete the quote form, which asks builder type, average annual construction volume, name, email, phone, company, country and state. Any per-month figure you see quoted elsewhere did not come from the vendor's own page.
Does Buildertrend charge per user?
No. The pricing page states unlimited users are included in the subscription, and repeats that there is no need to worry about extra costs as the team grows. For a remodeling crew this matters more than it sounds. A three-person office that adds two estimators and a site lead pays the same subscription as before. On a per-user-priced tool at, say, $50 per user per month, going from 3 to 6 users adds $150 a month, or $1,800 a year. Buildertrend's model adds nothing.
What is the Buildertrend annual discount worth?
10% off, when you pay upfront for a full year. On a hypothetical $399 per month subscription that is $4,788 at monthly rates against $4,309.20 paid annually, saving $478.80. On $599 per month it is $7,188 against $6,469.20, saving $718.80. The percentage is fixed, so the saving scales linearly with whatever quote you receive: divide your annual monthly-rate total by 10. The vendor describes it as a limited-time offer, so it may not be available when you enquire.
Is Buildertrend worth it for a two or three person remodeling crew?
Buildertrend states on its pricing page that it was built for builders who oversee 5 or more projects a year or handle complex multi-phase builds, and who want to go from 6 to 8 figures in annual revenue. Its quote form's lowest construction volume band is $0 to $499K, so small crews are not excluded. But the self-described target starts higher. A crew running three projects a year sits below the profile the vendor writes for, which is a reason to press hard on price during the quote call.
How long does Buildertrend take to set up?
The pricing page states most builders can begin using the platform within a few days, citing a streamlined onboarding process and support options. Included support is described as daily virtual trainings and a 24/7 Help Center. The page does not state whether onboarding carries a separate one-off fee, and does not state a setup cost either way. Treat implementation cost as unknown until the quote is in writing.

Sources — checked Sep 1, 2026

  1. Buildertrend — Pricing
  2. Buildertrend — Home

Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.