Kickserv Onboarding Costs and Setup Requirements
Kickserv's published monthly and annual cost for 1 to 20 users, the 5% Kickback thresholds, and which setup costs the pricing page does not state.
Kickserv’s pricing page publishes three tiers: Start at $60 a month for 5 users, Run at $119 for 10 users, and Scale at $199 for 20 users. It states no setup, onboarding or training fee, and it does not say none exists. A 4-person HVAC crew on Start pays $720 in year one on monthly billing, or $576 on annual.
Key points
- Start is $60 a month for 5 users, Run is $119 for 10 users and Scale is $199 for 20 users, per the vendor’s pricing page.
- The page says annual subscriptions save 20%, which works out to $48, $95.20 and $159.20 a month on the three plans.
- The Kickback discount is 5% off the monthly fee and needs $1,000, $2,000 or $3,000 of online payments a month, saving at most $9.95 a month.
- A sixth technician forces a move from Start to Run, adding $59 a month or $708 a year.
- No onboarding fee, data import fee, contract length or card processing rate appears on the page, so those costs are unverified.

What assumptions drive these numbers?
All figures come from one page, scraped on 2026-10-06. The assumptions below change the answer, so check each one.

| Assumption | What we used | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Listed price is the monthly-billing price | $60, $119, $199 | The page shows a Monthly/Annual toggle. We read the headline price as monthly and apply the stated 20% saving for annual. |
| “5 users” means up to 5 | Start covers 1 to 5 users | The page does not publish a per-extra-user fee, so a user over the limit means the next plan. |
| Annual saving is exactly 20% | price x 0.80 | The page says “Save 20% with annual subscription”. Rounding by the vendor may differ by cents. |
| Kickback stacks on annual | 5% applied after the 20% | The page does not say whether the two discounts combine. Treated as an assumption, and marked where used. |
| Taxes and card fees excluded | $0 | Neither is published on the page. |
| Free trial is not billed | First 30 days = $0 | The page says “Start free for 30 days”. Whether a card is required is not stated. |
Our running example is an HVAC company with 4 technicians and office staff sharing logins: 4 users.
How much does Kickserv cost at 1 to 20 users?
The cost depends on which tier your head count falls into, because price is flat within a tier. The table below sweeps the range. Find your user count in the first column.

Working: monthly price / users = cost per user. Annual = monthly price x 0.80.
| Users | Plan | Monthly billing, per month | Per user, monthly | Annual billing, per month | Per user, annual |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Start | $60.00 | $60.00 | $48.00 | $48.00 |
| 2 | Start | $60.00 | $30.00 | $48.00 | $24.00 |
| 3 | Start | $60.00 | $20.00 | $48.00 | $16.00 |
| 4 | Start | $60.00 | $15.00 | $48.00 | $12.00 |
| 5 | Start | $60.00 | $12.00 | $48.00 | $9.60 |
| 6 | Run | $119.00 | $19.83 | $95.20 | $15.87 |
| 7 | Run | $119.00 | $17.00 | $95.20 | $13.60 |
| 8 | Run | $119.00 | $14.88 | $95.20 | $11.90 |
| 9 | Run | $119.00 | $13.22 | $95.20 | $10.58 |
| 10 | Run | $119.00 | $11.90 | $95.20 | $9.52 |
| 11 | Scale | $199.00 | $18.09 | $159.20 | $14.47 |
| 12 | Scale | $199.00 | $16.58 | $159.20 | $13.27 |
| 15 | Scale | $199.00 | $13.27 | $159.20 | $10.61 |
| 20 | Scale | $199.00 | $9.95 | $159.20 | $7.96 |
Two rows matter most. Row 5 is the cheapest per-user point on Start at $12.00. Row 6 is the most expensive jump on the page: per-user cost rises from $12.00 to $19.83 because you cross into Run.
Above 20 users, the page mentions a Premium plan in the Kickback paragraph but publishes no Premium price or user limit. We leave it out of every table.
What does the first year cost on each plan?
The first year is 12 times the monthly figure, with or without the 20% annual saving. This table carries the same plans through twelve months.
Working: monthly x 12 = monthly-billing year. Annual-billing year = monthly x 0.80 x 12.
| Plan | Monthly billing, 12 months | Annual billing, 12 months | Saving | Saving as months free |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Start | $720.00 | $576.00 | $144.00 | 2.4 |
| Run | $1,428.00 | $1,142.40 | $285.60 | 2.4 |
| Scale | $2,388.00 | $1,910.40 | $477.60 | 2.4 |
For the 4-user example on Start with a 30-day free trial and monthly billing, we assume the trial replaces the first month: 11 paid months x $60 = $660. On annual billing, we cannot tell whether the free trial reduces the annual charge, so $576 is the figure we hold.
What does the Kickback discount actually save?
Kickback gives a 5% reduction on the monthly fee for users who process a minimum amount in online payments each month. The vendor page lists $1,000 for Start, $2,000 for Run and $3,000 for Scale, and says annual plans multiply the minimum by 12.
Working: monthly price x 0.05 = discount.
| Plan | Monthly minimum | Annual-plan minimum (x12) | Discount per month | Discount per year | Discount as % of required volume |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Start | $1,000 | $12,000 | $3.00 | $36.00 | 0.30% |
| Run | $2,000 | $24,000 | $5.95 | $71.40 | 0.30% |
| Scale | $3,000 | $36,000 | $9.95 | $119.40 | 0.33% |
Kickback is a small reward, not a pricing lever. It pays around 0.3 cents per dollar processed. Whether it is worth chasing depends on the card processing rate you pay, and that rate is not published on the page. If you were going to take online payments anyway, it is a few dollars back. If you would change how you collect money just to hit the minimum, the fee on that volume could easily exceed the discount.
How do plan, billing and Kickback combine?
The two discounts interact, and the page does not say how. The table below varies two axes: billing term and Kickback status. The Kickback-on-annual column assumes the 5% applies after the 20% saving.
Working: Kickback monthly = price x 0.95. Annual = price x 0.80. Both = price x 0.80 x 0.95.
| Plan | Monthly billing | Monthly + Kickback | Annual billing | Annual + Kickback (assumed stacking) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Start | $60.00 | $57.00 | $48.00 | $45.60 |
| Run | $119.00 | $113.05 | $95.20 | $90.44 |
| Scale | $199.00 | $189.05 | $159.20 | $151.24 |
Moving from monthly to annual is worth far more than Kickback: $12.00 against $3.00 a month on Start. If stacking does not apply, the best published price for Start is $48.00 a month, not $45.60.
How many online payments does it take to qualify?
Kickback is only reachable if enough invoices are paid online. This reverse calculation shows how many paid invoices a month reach each minimum at three average invoice sizes. Round up, because you cannot collect part of an invoice.
Working: monthly minimum / average invoice, rounded up.
| Plan (monthly minimum) | $250 invoices | $500 invoices | $1,000 invoices |
|---|---|---|---|
| Start ($1,000) | 4 | 2 | 1 |
| Run ($2,000) | 8 | 4 | 2 |
| Scale ($3,000) | 12 | 6 | 3 |
An HVAC company with 4 technicians on Start would need two $500 invoices a month paid online. On Run, the same $500 average needs 4. The question is not whether the volume is reachable, but whether customers pay online and what the processing fee costs. That fee is not on the page.
What does it cost to move up a plan?
Growth is the main cost trap. Published tiers step at 5 and 10 users, and the step is paid in full from the first extra user.
Working: next plan price - current plan price.
| Move | Monthly billing, extra per month | Extra per year | Annual billing, extra per month | Extra per year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Start to Run (6th user) | $59.00 | $708.00 | $47.20 | $566.40 |
| Run to Scale (11th user) | $80.00 | $960.00 | $64.00 | $768.00 |
A shop at 5 users that is considering a sixth hire should include the extra $708 a year in the cost of that hire. In reverse, if two part-time staff can share one login, staying at 5 users keeps the bill at $60.
What onboarding costs and setup requirements does the page state?
The page states very little about onboarding. It does state these setup-related facts:
- A 30-day free trial on Start (“Start free for 30 days”) and a matching free trial on Run.
- A “Sign up for free!” button in the page header.
- Start includes QuickBooks Online accounting integration, an embeddable contact form, automated email and text reminders, over 20 business reports, time tracking and expense tracking.
- The integrations list names Mailchimp, Podium, QuickBooks Desktop, QuickBooks Online and Stripe.
Those are features, not a setup cost schedule. The page does not mention data migration, staff training, a minimum contract, a cancellation fee or hardware.
What common mistakes do people make reading this pricing?
Misconception 1: “$12 per user” is the price. That is the price only at 5 users on Start. At 1 user it is $60.00, and at 6 users it is $19.83. The tier is flat, so unused seats are still paid for.
Misconception 2: “Annual means two months free.” The stated 20% is 2.4 months, so Start saves $144 a year, not $120. In the other direction, it is not 3 months free either.
Misconception 3: “Kickback makes the software much cheaper.” The most it saves on any listed plan is $9.95 a month, or $119.40 a year on Scale, against a required $36,000 of online payments if on annual billing.
Misconception 4: “The trial means a free setup.” A 30-day free trial covers the subscription for 30 days. It says nothing about import or onboarding fees after that.
When is this estimate wrong?
- You need more than 20 users. Premium is mentioned but not priced. Our tables stop at 20.
- You need add-ons or extra users. No add-on or per-extra-user fee is published. If one exists, the totals above are low.
- The headline price is the annual price. If the displayed $60 already includes the annual saving, monthly billing would cost about $75 (60 / 0.80), and every monthly figure here would be too low. Confirm on the toggle at sign-up.
- Kickback and annual billing do not stack. Then the last column of the combination table is too low.
- Card fees. Online payments carry a processing cost not shown on the page. It can exceed the Kickback discount.
- Prices change. The page footer shows a 2023 copyright, and the scrape is dated 2026-10-06. Check the current page before you commit.
What could not be verified?
The vendor was reachable, but these items are not published on the page we used, so we leave them out of every table:
- Setup, onboarding, data import and training fees.
- Contract length, cancellation and refund terms.
- Premium plan price and user limit.
- Price per extra user above a plan limit.
- Card processing rates for online payments.
- Whether Kickback stacks with the annual saving.
- Whether a card is needed to start the free trial.
- Whether the Scale plan has its own free trial. The scraped text shows trials for Start and Run only.
One price fragment in the scraped Run section (“$50/m)”) is unreadable out of context, so we did not use it.
What should you check before buying?
- Count users by login, not by employees. A 5-user cap at $60 is the cheapest published point.
- Switch the billing toggle on the Kickserv pricing page and compare to the $48, $95.20 and $159.20 figures above.
- Ask in writing about setup, import and training charges, and get the answer before the trial ends.
- Ask for the card processing rate, then work out whether the Kickback minimum is worth chasing.
- Ask about contract length and refunds on annual billing.
- Plan for your next hire. If you are at 5 or 10 users, the next one costs $59 or $80 a month.
- If you will pass 20 users, ask for Premium pricing now.
This site does not use these products. It records what vendors publish, and the arithmetic above is ours.
Read next
Common questions
- How much does Kickserv cost for a 4-person HVAC crew?
- On the published Start plan, a 4-user crew pays $60 a month on monthly billing, which is $720 over 12 months. The page says annual subscriptions save 20%, which gives $48 a month or $576 a year on our calculation. That is $15.00 per user per month on monthly billing, or $12.00 on annual. The Start plan covers up to 5 users, so a fifth technician adds nothing to the published price. Setup or training fees are not stated on the page.
- Does Kickserv charge a setup or onboarding fee?
- The pricing page as scraped on 2026-10-06 lists no setup fee, onboarding fee, data import fee or training fee. It also does not say that none exists. Treat it as unverified, not as zero. What the page does show is a 30-day free trial on the Start and Run plans. Before relying on a $0 start, ask Kickserv in writing whether any one-time charge applies to your plan, your data import, or QuickBooks setup.
- How much do I need to process online to get the Kickserv Kickback discount?
- The page lists monthly minimums of $1,000 for Start, $2,000 for Run and $3,000 for Scale, each earning 5% off the monthly fee. On annual plans the minimum is multiplied by 12, so $12,000, $24,000 and $36,000 a year. The discount is worth $3.00, $5.95 and $9.95 a month on monthly billing, which is roughly 0.3% of the volume you must process. The page does not publish card processing rates.
- Is Kickserv annual billing worth it compared with monthly?
- Using the published 20% annual saving, Start drops from $720 to $576 a year (save $144), Run from $1,428 to $1,142.40 (save $285.60) and Scale from $2,388 to $1,910.40 (save $477.60). That equals 2.4 months free on every plan. The trade-off is committing 12 months up front. The page does not state refund terms or whether annual is paid in one payment, so confirm those before choosing it.
- What happens when I hire a sixth technician on Kickserv?
- The published tiers jump from 5 users on Start to 10 users on Run. A sixth user moves you from $60 to $119 a month on monthly billing, an increase of $59 a month or $708 a year. Per user cost goes from $12.00 at 5 users to $19.83 at 6 users. The page does not publish a per-extra-user price, so a plan change is the only published route.
Sources — checked Oct 6, 2026
Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.