JobsiteCompare

HVAC Field Service Management

Service Fusion vs Kickserv: HVAC Dispatch Costs Compared

Work out what Service Fusion and Kickserv cost an HVAC crew at 1 to 20 technicians, with per-seat maths, annual savings and the 27-seat break-even.

By TraderX Verified Aug 22, 2026 Published Aug 22, 2026
Service Fusion vs Kickserv: HVAC Dispatch Costs Compared — Field Service Management pricing comparison

For an HVAC shop under about 26 technicians, Kickserv costs less. Kickserv Start covers 5 users at $60 a month and Scale covers 20 at $199 a month. Service Fusion charges by plan rather than by seat: Starter is $245 a month for unlimited users. The two lines cross at roughly 27 seats.

Key points

  • Kickserv Scale carries 20 users for $199 a month, which is $9.95 per user; Service Fusion Starter is $245 a month for unlimited users, or $12.25 per user at the same 20 seats.
  • Service Fusion Starter on annual billing is $208 a month, and it only undercuts Kickserv Scale on a per-seat basis once you pass 26 technicians.
  • Annual billing saves $444 a year on Service Fusion Starter and $144 a year on Kickserv Start, so the larger percentage discount is not the larger dollar saving.
  • Kickserv Kickback is 5% off the subscription fee, worth $36 to $119.40 a year depending on tier, and it requires $1,000 to $3,000 in monthly online payment volume.
  • Neither vendor publishes card processing rates or add-on prices, so no total cost of ownership figure on this page is complete.

Two technicians with helmets working on electrical equipment outdoors, ensuring safety.

This site does not use either product. Everything below is arithmetic performed on the numbers the two vendors published on their own pricing pages on 22 August 2026.

What do the two vendors actually charge?

Service Fusion prices by feature tier with unlimited users on every tier. Kickserv prices by seat count. That single structural difference drives every number in this article.

Electrician from Elite Power Group installing a solar inverter outside.

VendorPlanUsers includedMonthly billingAnnual billing (per month)
Service FusionStarterUnlimited$245$208
Service FusionPlusUnlimited$382$325
Service FusionProUnlimited$533 stated as $533; monthly $627$533
KickservStart5$60$48
KickservRun10$119$95.20
KickservScale20$199$159.20

Service Fusion Pro is $627 a month billed monthly and $533 a month billed annually, per the Service Fusion pricing page. Service Fusion states the annual figures are “charged as one annual payment at sign-up”, so the annual column is a monthly equivalent, not a monthly instalment.

Kickserv’s annual column is computed, not quoted. The Kickserv pricing page lists monthly prices and states “Save 20% with annual subscription” without printing the discounted figures. So $60 × 0.80 = $48, $119 × 0.80 = $95.20, and $199 × 0.80 = $159.20. If Kickserv rounds differently at checkout, expect a few cents of drift.

Assumptions behind every table below

  • Prices are list prices as published on 22 August 2026. No negotiated rate, no promotional period, no reseller discount.
  • Kickserv’s 20% annual saving is applied as a straight multiplier because the page states a percentage and no dollar figures.
  • Seat counts mean every person who needs a login: technicians, dispatchers, office staff, the owner. Service Fusion’s FAQ frames this as “one technician and one dispatcher or 20 technicians and a full office”.
  • Add-ons are excluded. Neither page prices them.
  • Card processing is excluded. Neither page publishes a rate.

What does each product cost per technician at your headcount?

This is the table most shops need. It sweeps the whole realistic range for a residential or light commercial HVAC business, from a one-van owner-operator to a 20-seat shop with a full office.

An industrial HVAC system installed on a modern building rooftop in Kuwait City.

Kickserv is priced at the cheapest tier that fits the seat count. Service Fusion is priced at Starter, since Starter is the entry tier and seat count does not change it.

SeatsKickserv tierKickserv annual $/moKickserv $/seat/moService Fusion Starter annual $/moSF $/seat/moMonthly gap
1Start$48.00$48.00$208$208.00$160.00
2Start$48.00$24.00$208$104.00$160.00
3Start$48.00$16.00$208$69.33$160.00
4Start$48.00$12.00$208$52.00$160.00
5Start$48.00$9.60$208$41.60$160.00
6Run$95.20$15.87$208$34.67$112.80
8Run$95.20$11.90$208$26.00$112.80
10Run$95.20$9.52$208$20.80$112.80
11Scale$159.20$14.47$208$18.91$48.80
15Scale$159.20$10.61$208$13.87$48.80
20Scale$159.20$7.96$208$10.40$48.80
21+Not publishedn/an/a$208falls with headcountn/a

Two things fall out of this table. First, Kickserv is cheaper in absolute dollars at every published seat count, and the gap narrows from $160 a month at one seat to $48.80 a month at twenty. Second, Kickserv’s per-seat cost is saw-toothed: it drops as you fill a tier and jumps when you cross into the next one. The worst value points are the first seat of a new tier. At 6 seats you pay $15.87 per seat; at 10 seats on the same tier you pay $9.52. If you are at 5 seats and about to hire, that sixth hire adds $47.20 a month on annual billing, or $59 on monthly.

Service Fusion’s per-seat cost only ever falls. That is the whole argument for unlimited-user pricing, and it is why the comparison eventually flips.

When does Service Fusion become the cheaper option per seat?

At 27 seats, working backwards from Kickserv’s best published per-seat rate.

Kickserv’s cheapest per-seat figure anywhere on its page is Scale at 20 users on annual billing: $159.20 ÷ 20 = $7.96 per user per month. Service Fusion Starter on annual billing is a flat $208 a month.

  • $208 ÷ $7.96 = 26.13 seats.
  • 26 seats gives $208 ÷ 26 = $8.00 per seat, still above Kickserv.
  • 27 seats gives $208 ÷ 27 = $7.70 per seat, below Kickserv.

On monthly billing the same calculation uses $245 and $9.95: $245 ÷ $9.95 = 24.62, so 25 seats, where Service Fusion is $9.80 per seat.

This is a per-seat comparison only. On total monthly spend, Service Fusion Starter never comes in below Kickserv Scale at any headcount Kickserv publishes, because $208 is always more than $159.20. The per-seat crossover matters when your headcount is growing past Kickserv’s published ceiling and you need to know what the next platform costs.

Comparison basisBilling termCrossover point
Cost per seat, SF Starter vs Kickserv ScaleAnnual27 seats
Cost per seat, SF Starter vs Kickserv ScaleMonthly25 seats
Total monthly spend, SF Starter vs Kickserv ScaleEitherNever at 20 seats or fewer
Total monthly spend, SF Starter vs Kickserv RunEitherNever at 10 seats or fewer

How much does billing term change the answer?

This is the second axis. Vary plan tier and billing term together and the annual outlay moves by more than most shops expect.

Vendor and planPaid monthly (12 months)Paid annuallyDollar savingEffective discount
Service Fusion Starter$2,940$2,496$44415.1%
Service Fusion Plus$4,584$3,900$68414.9%
Service Fusion Pro$7,524$6,396$1,12815.0%
Kickserv Start$720$576$14420%
Kickserv Run$1,428$1,142.40$285.6020%
Kickserv Scale$2,388$1,910.40$477.6020%

Working, one line each:

  • Service Fusion Starter monthly: $245 × 12 = $2,940. Annual: $208 × 12 = $2,496. Difference $444. $444 ÷ $2,940 = 15.1%.
  • Service Fusion Plus: $382 × 12 = $4,584 against $325 × 12 = $3,900. Difference $684.
  • Service Fusion Pro: $627 × 12 = $7,524 against $533 × 12 = $6,396. Difference $1,128.
  • Kickserv Start: $60 × 12 = $720, less 20% = $576. Difference $144.
  • Kickserv Run: $119 × 12 = $1,428, less 20% = $285.60 saved.
  • Kickserv Scale: $199 × 12 = $2,388, less 20% = $477.60 saved.

Cash out of the door on day one

Service Fusion states the annual option is charged as one payment at sign-up. Kickserv’s page does not say how the annual subscription is collected, so the figures below are the annual subscription value, not a confirmed single charge.

PlanAnnual valueMonthly-billing first payment
Service Fusion Starter$2,496 at sign-up$245
Service Fusion Plus$3,900 at sign-up$382
Service Fusion Pro$6,396 at sign-up$627
Kickserv Start$576$60
Kickserv Run$1,142.40$119
Kickserv Scale$1,910.40$199

A shop with tight winter cashflow should weigh $2,496 up front against $444 saved. That saving is a 17.8% return on the extra cash committed ($444 ÷ $2,496), spread over twelve months.

What is Kickserv Kickback worth, and what volume does it need?

It is 5% off the subscription fee, with a minimum monthly online payment volume attached to each tier. Kickserv states annual plans multiply the monthly minimum by 12.

TierMonthly processing minimumAnnual-plan volume requiredDiscount on monthly priceAnnual saving (monthly billing)Annual saving (annual billing)
Start$1,000$12,0005% of $60 = $3.00$36.005% of $48 = $2.40, or $28.80
Run$2,000$24,0005% of $119 = $5.95$71.405% of $95.20 = $4.76, or $57.12
Scale$3,000$36,0005% of $199 = $9.95$119.405% of $159.20 = $7.96, or $95.52

Reverse the question: what does the discount cost you per dollar processed? On Scale with monthly billing you must move $3,000 through the system to save $9.95. That is 0.33% of volume returned as a subscription credit. Whether that is worth routing payments through the platform depends entirely on the processing rate, which is not published.

Kickserv’s Kickback chart also names a “Premium” tier alongside Start, Run and Scale. No price, seat count or feature list for Premium appears on the pricing page, so it is excluded from every table here.

Two things HVAC buyers get wrong about these prices

“Unlimited users means it gets cheap fast.” It gets cheaper per seat, but the starting point is high. Service Fusion Starter at 1 seat is $208 a month on annual billing, which is 4.3 times what Kickserv Start costs for up to 5 seats. A three-van shop with an office manager is 4 seats: $208 versus $48. Unlimited pricing pays off at scale, and the tables above put that scale at 27 seats against Kickserv’s best rate.

“20% off beats 15% off.” Kickserv’s annual discount is the larger percentage and the smaller cheque. Kickserv Start saves $144 a year. Service Fusion Starter saves $444 a year. The percentage is applied to different base prices, so it tells you nothing about which decision returns more cash. Compare dollars.

“The 5% payments discount will cover a tier upgrade.” Moving from Kickserv Start to Run on annual billing costs an extra $47.20 a month. Kickback on Run is worth $4.76 a month. The discount covers about a tenth of the step up.

When is this estimate wrong?

  • You need features above the entry tier. Service Fusion puts Job Photo Uploads, Inventory Management and Job Costing in Plus, and Open API Integration in Pro. If HVAC equipment inventory or job costing is non-negotiable, your Service Fusion baseline is $325 a month annually, not $208, and every per-seat figure in the first table rises by 56%.
  • You need add-ons. GPS Fleet Tracking, ServiceCall.ai, Custom Documents, eSign Documents, the Customer Web Portal and Progressive Billing are listed as add-ons on one or more Service Fusion tiers with no prices given. Any of these could change the ranking.
  • Card processing dominates. An HVAC business installing systems may process far more per invoice than a plumbing or landscaping shop. A 0.3% difference in processing rate on $60,000 of monthly card volume is $180 a month, which is larger than the entire subscription gap at every seat count in this article.
  • You exceed 20 seats. Kickserv publishes nothing above Scale. Any figure for a 25-technician Kickserv deployment would be invented.
  • Prices changed after 22 August 2026. Both pages are live commercial pricing pages and can move without notice.

What could not be verified

  • Kickserv Run’s feature list. The scraped page shows Run at 10 users for $119 a month followed by a fragment reading “$50/m)” with no surrounding sentence and no feature bullets. Kickserv’s stated features for Start (embeddable contact form, automated email and text reminders, over 20 business reports, time tracking, expense tracking, QuickBooks Online integration) are reproduced above; the incremental features in Run and Scale are not stated on the page in a form that can be quoted.
  • Kickserv Premium pricing. Named in the Kickback section, priced nowhere.
  • Add-on pricing for either vendor. Neither page attaches a dollar figure to any add-on.
  • Payment processing rates for either vendor. Not published.
  • Kickserv annual billing collection method. The page states a 20% saving but not whether it is billed as one payment.
  • Service Fusion free trial. Kickserv advertises a 30-day free trial on Start and Run. Service Fusion’s page offers a free demo and does not state a trial.

What to check before you buy

  1. Count every login, not every van. Office staff, dispatchers and the owner all consume Kickserv seats. A 4-van shop is often 6 seats, which moves you from Start at $48 a month to Run at $95.20.
  2. Get the processing rate in writing from both. It is the single largest unpublished variable and it can outweigh the subscription difference many times over.
  3. Price the add-ons you actually need before comparing tiers. Ask specifically about GPS Fleet Tracking and job photo uploads if your technicians document equipment condition.
  4. Ask what happens at seat 21 on Kickserv. If your growth plan puts you past 20 technicians within the contract term, find out the Premium price before you commit.
  5. Check the annual payment terms. Service Fusion’s $2,496 at sign-up for Starter is a real cashflow event. Confirm what happens if you downgrade mid-term. Service Fusion states no contract requirements, so ask how that interacts with a prepaid year.
  6. Confirm both accounting integrations match your books. Kickserv’s page names QuickBooks Online and QuickBooks Desktop; Service Fusion lists QuickBooks Integration on all three tiers without specifying the edition.

Re-check both pricing pages yourself on the day you buy. Every figure here is dated 22 August 2026, and the vendors control the numbers, not this site.

Also worth reading: Cheapest Service Fusion Setup for a Budget-Conscious Plumber

Also worth reading: Service Fusion Plan Tiers: Starter vs Plus vs Pro

Also worth reading: ServiceTitan vs Service Fusion: Cost at 15 Users

Also worth reading: Service Fusion Usage Fees: Texting and Call Charges

Also worth reading: Tradify Pricing for a 5-Person HVAC Shop


Common questions

Is Service Fusion or Kickserv cheaper for a 5-technician HVAC company?
Kickserv is cheaper on published list price. Kickserv Start covers 5 users at $60 a month, or $48 a month on the annual plan after the stated 20% saving. Service Fusion Starter is $245 a month billed monthly, or $208 a month billed annually. At 5 seats that is $41.60 per seat per month on Service Fusion against $9.60 on Kickserv, a gap of $1,920 over a year on the annual terms. Feature sets differ, so compare the included lists as well as the totals.
How many users does Service Fusion need before it beats Kickserv per seat?
Around 27. Kickserv Scale on annual billing works out at $159.20 a month for 20 users, which is $7.96 per user per month. Service Fusion Starter on annual billing is $208 a month for unlimited users, so it reaches $7.96 per user at 208 divided by 7.96, which is 26.1 users. Since you cannot buy a fraction of a technician, 27 seats is the first whole number where Service Fusion is cheaper per head. Kickserv publishes no seat tier above 20.
How much does annual billing actually save on each product?
Service Fusion Starter drops from $245 to $208 a month, which is $444 over a year. Plus drops from $382 to $325, saving $684. Pro drops from $627 to $533, saving $1,128. Kickserv states a 20% saving on annual subscriptions: Start goes from $60 to $48 a month, saving $144 a year, Run from $119 to $95.20 saving $285.60, and Scale from $199 to $159.20 saving $477.60. Service Fusion charges the whole annual amount at sign-up.
What is Kickserv Kickback worth in dollars?
It is 5% off the monthly subscription fee, not 5% of the money you process. On Kickserv Start that is $3 a month, or $36 a year, and it requires at least $1,000 in online payments each month. On Run it is $5.95 a month, or $71.40 a year, with a $2,000 monthly minimum. On Scale it is $9.95 a month, or $119.40 a year, with a $3,000 minimum. Annual plans multiply the monthly minimum by 12.
Do either of these publish their card processing rates?
No. Service Fusion lists Integrated Payments and Payment Processing as included features on Starter, Plus and Pro, and Kickserv lists Stripe as an integration and ties its Kickback discount to online payment volume, but neither pricing page states a percentage or a per-transaction fee. That matters for HVAC work, where a single system replacement invoice can run into five figures. Ask both vendors for the rate card in writing before you sign, because the processing spread can exceed the subscription difference.

Sources — checked Aug 22, 2026

  1. Service Fusion — Pricing
  2. Kickserv — Pricing

Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.