Cleaning Field Service Management
ServiceM8 SMS Allowances and Overage Costs
Work out your ServiceM8 text message cost per month on the Free plan, and see which SMS figures the vendor does not publish.
Price correction (2026-10-20): Updated the ServiceM8 feature-price treatment and SMS comparison assumptions using the US pricing table and official pricing explanation. This note applies only to those price details; the article’s other checks and verification date are unchanged.
On Free, 100 texts cost $10 and 290 texts cost $29 at $0.10 each. The latter equals Starter’s base fee only. The US pricing FAQ describes a paid-plan monthly SMS cap and overage fee, whose applicable numerical terms were not confirmed.
Key points
- The only per-text price published for ServiceM8 is 10c per SMS, and it sits in the Free plan column of the plan comparison table.
- 290 Free-plan texts cost $29, equal only to Starter’s base fee, not a confirmed final-cost break-even.
- The Free plan allows 1 user and 30 jobs per month; Starter, Growing, Premium and Premium Plus all list unlimited users.
- The monthly SMS cap and the overage fee per SMS for the four paid plans are not published as numbers, so any estimate of paid-plan overage would be a guess.
- Premium Plus is the only plan with a published extra-job price: 20c per additional job beyond 1500+ jobs per month.

What does ServiceM8 publish about SMS pricing?
ServiceM8 publishes one text price and one text rule. The price is 10c per SMS on the Free plan. The rule, from the vendor’s FAQ, is that there is a standard overage fee for each SMS sent over your plan’s monthly SMS cap.

The plan comparison on the ServiceM8 US pricing page reads, in the text row, “Text Messaging 10c per SMS Free Free Free Free”. The table has five plan columns: Free, Starter, Growing, Premium and Premium Plus. We read the first value as the Free column and the four “Free” values as the paid columns. The page text was captured with the table flattened, so this column mapping is our reading, not a quote of a labelled cell.
Published plan terms relevant to this article:
| Plan | Monthly price | Users | New jobs per month | Text messaging row |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 1 | 30 | 10c per SMS |
| Starter | $29 | Unlimited | 50 | Free |
| Growing | $79 | Unlimited | 150 | Free |
| Premium | $149 | Unlimited | 500 | Free |
| Premium Plus | $349 | Unlimited | 1500+ | Free |
Prices are in USD, as the page states. The “Free” in the paid columns means no per-text charge is shown there. It does not tell you how many texts are included, because the cap is not printed.
What assumptions does this article use?
Every calculation below uses the same assumptions, so you can see what would change your answer:

- Billing is monthly. The vendor says there are no lock-ins with its pricing, so we do not model an annual commitment.
- One SMS means one message sent by the business. We do not know how ServiceM8 counts long messages or replies, because the page does not say.
- The 10c rate applies per message on the Free plan with no bulk discount, tax or rounding rule. None is mentioned on the page.
- Usage and optional services are separate. Auto Time Tracking is included, and Bundles is included from Growing upward; optional Phone starts at $19/month.
- Our worked example is a small cleaning business that sends confirmation and reminder texts around each job. The texts-per-job figures are assumptions for the table, not vendor data.
How much does the Free plan cost at every text volume?
The Free-plan SMS bill is texts x $0.10. The last column compares it with Starter’s $29 base fee only, not the paid plan’s final bill. Paid-plan SMS is subject to the applicable allowance and overage terms, whose numerical values were not confirmed.
| Texts per month | Working | Free plan SMS cost | Total vs. Starter ($29) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 0 × 0.10 | $0.00 | $29.00 below base fee |
| 10 | 10 × 0.10 | $1.00 | $28.00 below base fee |
| 25 | 25 × 0.10 | $2.50 | $26.50 below base fee |
| 50 | 50 × 0.10 | $5.00 | $24.00 below base fee |
| 100 | 100 × 0.10 | $10.00 | $19.00 below base fee |
| 150 | 150 × 0.10 | $15.00 | $14.00 below base fee |
| 200 | 200 × 0.10 | $20.00 | $9.00 below base fee |
| 250 | 250 × 0.10 | $25.00 | $4.00 below base fee |
| 290 | 290 × 0.10 | $29.00 | Same |
| 300 | 300 × 0.10 | $30.00 | $1.00 above base fee |
| 500 | 500 × 0.10 | $50.00 | $21.00 above base fee |
Find your monthly text count in the first column. The last column compares the Free plan with Starter on price alone, and it ignores the Free plan’s 1-user limit and 30-job limit.
How do jobs per month and texts per job change the bill?
Free plan SMS cost depends on two things you control: how many jobs you book and how many texts each job generates. The formula is jobs × texts per job × 0.10. The Free plan caps new jobs at 30 per month, so the table stops at 30.
| Texts per job | 10 jobs/month | 20 jobs/month | 30 jobs/month |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $1.00 | $2.00 | $3.00 |
| 2 | $2.00 | $4.00 | $6.00 |
| 3 | $3.00 | $6.00 | $9.00 |
| 5 | $5.00 | $10.00 | $15.00 |
| 8 | $8.00 | $16.00 | $24.00 |
| 10 | $10.00 | $20.00 | $30.00 |
Two readings follow from the grid. A cleaner who sends 3 texts per job (booking confirmation, a reminder, an arrival notice) across 30 jobs pays $9.00. Only at 10 texts per job and 30 jobs does the Free plan reach $30.00, which is above the $29 Starter price.
What does the 290-text calculation show?
Free-plan SMS costs $0.10 each, so 290 texts cost $29. This equals Starter’s base monthly fee only. The US table marks paid-plan SMS as Free, but the official FAQ describes a monthly SMS cap and overage fees. The applicable paid allowance and overage rate were not confirmed, so this arithmetic does not establish a plan-cost break-even or unlimited free SMS.
The reverse calculation asks how many texts per job reach a $29 Free-plan SMS bill. It does not identify a paid-plan upgrade threshold. Paid-plan SMS is subject to the applicable allowance and overage terms, whose numerical values were not confirmed.
| Jobs per month | Working (290 ÷ jobs) | Texts per job to reach $29 |
|---|---|---|
| 10 | 290 ÷ 10 | 29.0 |
| 15 | 290 ÷ 15 | 19.3 |
| 20 | 290 ÷ 20 | 14.5 |
| 25 | 290 ÷ 25 | 11.6 |
| 30 | 290 ÷ 30 | 9.7 |
At 30 jobs, ten texts per job makes 300 texts and a $30 Free-plan SMS bill, $1 above Starter’s base fee. The applicable paid SMS terms are still needed to compare final bills. User, job and feature requirements can also determine an upgrade. Paid-plan SMS is subject to the applicable allowance and overage terms, whose numerical values were not confirmed.
What does ServiceM8 cost per person as the crew grows?
The Free plan allows 1 user, and the vendor says the Free plan is the only plan that limits users. A second cleaner therefore needs a paid plan, whatever the text volume. The vendor states “we don’t charge per user”, so the arithmetic is the plan price divided by headcount.
| Users | Free | Starter ($29) per user | Growing ($79) per user |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $0.00 | $29.00 | $79.00 |
| 3 | Not allowed (1 user max) | $9.67 | $26.33 |
| 5 | Not allowed (1 user max) | $5.80 | $15.80 |
| 8 | Not allowed (1 user max) | $3.63 | $9.88 |
Worked example for a 5-person crew on Starter: $29 ÷ 5 = $5.80 per person per month. If the same crew moved to Growing for the 150-job limit, $79 ÷ 5 = $15.80. Compare this with software that bills by seat, where cost rises with each hire. Here the headcount only changes the per-person split, not the bill. Details are on the vendor’s pricing page.
What does a busy month cost on Premium Plus?
Premium Plus lists 1500+ jobs per month and an additional-jobs charge of 20c per job. The page does not say the 1,500 is a hard included amount, so the table assumes the included allowance is 1,500 and extra jobs are charged on top.
| Jobs in the month | Extra jobs | Working | Total (plan + extras) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1,500 | 0 | $349 + 0 × 0.20 | $349.00 |
| 1,600 | 100 | $349 + 100 × 0.20 | $369.00 |
| 1,800 | 300 | $349 + 300 × 0.20 | $409.00 |
| 2,000 | 500 | $349 + 500 × 0.20 | $449.00 |
| 2,500 | 1,000 | $349 + 1,000 × 0.20 | $549.00 |
No other plan shows a price for additional jobs. For those plans the vendor only says you are prompted to upgrade if your plan does not reset in time.
Which common beliefs about ServiceM8 texting are wrong?
Misconception 1: “Texts are free on the Free plan.” The plan is free to hold, but the comparison table shows 10c per SMS on it. A solo cleaner sending 3 texts for each of 30 jobs pays 90 × 0.10 = $9.00 for the month, so the bill is not $0.
Misconception 2: “Paid plans have unlimited texts because the row says Free.” The vendor’s own FAQ describes an overage fee for each SMS sent over the plan’s monthly SMS cap. A “Free” entry in the text row cannot mean unlimited if a cap exists. The cap is not printed, so the safe reading is “included up to a limit you cannot see on this page”.
Misconception 3: “More cleaners means a higher ServiceM8 bill.” The vendor says it does not charge per user. Going from 3 users to 8 on Starter leaves the plan price at $29. Only the cost per person falls, from $9.67 to $3.63.
A text-count equality is not an upgrade rule. Free-plan SMS costs $0.10 each, so 290 texts cost $29. This equals Starter’s base monthly fee only. The US table marks paid-plan SMS as Free, but the official FAQ describes a monthly SMS cap and overage fees. The applicable paid allowance and overage rate were not confirmed, so this arithmetic does not establish a plan-cost break-even or unlimited free SMS.
When is this estimate wrong?
The numbers above fail in these cases:
- Paid-plan SMS use. Our tables price only the Free plan. On Starter and above, texts past the monthly cap carry an overage fee we cannot state, so a heavy texter on a paid plan could pay more than the plan price. We do not estimate it.
- How messages are counted. If a long message counts as more than one SMS, or if inbound replies count, your real volume will exceed your sent count. The page does not say.
- Loyalty or learning rewards. The vendor says progressing through its Learning Roadmap can unlock higher job and SMS limits, plan upgrades and add-ons. That could change what you pay and what you are allowed, and we cannot price it.
- Table reading. The pricing page text was captured as flattened text. If the column order differs from our reading, the 10c would belong to a different plan. Check the live table before relying on it.
- Page changes. Everything here is dated 2026-10-11. Vendors change prices, and the copyright line on the page reads 2024.
- Tax and optional services. These base/SMS examples exclude tax, purchased forms and optional Phone; included time tracking and eligible Bundles add no subscription surcharge.
What could not be verified?
- The monthly SMS cap on Starter, Growing, Premium and Premium Plus. The page mentions a cap but gives no figure.
- The overage fee per SMS for paid plans. The page calls it a “standard” fee and points to the comparison table, which shows no dollar amount for it.
- Whether the 10c Free plan rate has a monthly minimum, a free allowance or a different rule for replies.
- How ServiceM8 counts segments of long messages.
- Whether 1,500 jobs on Premium Plus is the included allowance or a threshold, since the page writes “1500+”.
We did not read any other source for these. The vendor lists them as published elsewhere (“View the Plan Comparison table for more info”), but the recorded text does not contain the figures. All vendors we planned to check were covered today, but for these items ServiceM8 does not publish a figure we could verify, so none are included in price tables. We have not used the product and make no claims about how it behaves in use.
What should you check before buying?
- Open the live plan comparison table and read the Text Messaging row for your plan. Write down the monthly SMS cap and the overage fee in dollars.
- Count actual texts per job and model Free at $0.10 each; obtain paid-plan allowance and overage terms before comparing final bills.
- Count users. If you have more than 1, the Free plan does not apply, and Starter at $29 is the lowest paid price listed.
- Compare your monthly job count with 30, 50, 150, 500 and 1500+. The job limit usually moves you up a plan before texts do.
- Ask the vendor whether replies and long messages count toward the cap.
- Use the 14-day free trial the page offers to see your own text volume before choosing a plan. Page: ServiceM8 pricing.
Read next
- ServiceM8 Cost for a Cleaning Business at Every Tier
- ServiceM8 Plan Tiers for Cleaning Businesses
- ServiceM8 SMS and Add-On Charges Explained
- Cleaning Business Software: Published Prices Compared
Also worth reading: ServiceM8 SMS and Automations Cost Breakdown
Common questions
- How much does ServiceM8 charge per text message?
- On the Free plan the plan comparison table on the ServiceM8 pricing page lists text messaging at 10c per SMS. That means 100 texts cost $10.00 and 290 texts cost $29.00 in a month. The same row shows Free against Starter, Growing, Premium and Premium Plus, so no per-text charge is shown for those paid plans, although the vendor says a monthly SMS cap and an overage fee exist.
- Does ServiceM8 have a monthly SMS limit on paid plans?
- The vendor's FAQ says there is a standard overage fee for each SMS sent over your plan's monthly SMS cap. The pricing page text we recorded on 2026-10-11 does not state the cap for Starter ($29/mo), Growing ($79/mo), Premium ($149/mo) or Premium Plus ($349/mo). It also does not state the overage fee in dollars, so you cannot calculate it from the published page.
- At what point does the ServiceM8 Free plan cost more than Starter?
- Free-plan SMS costs $0.10 each, so 290 texts cost $29. This equals Starter's base monthly fee only. The US table marks paid-plan SMS as Free, but the official FAQ describes a monthly SMS cap and overage fees. The applicable paid allowance and overage rate were not confirmed, so this arithmetic does not establish a plan-cost break-even or unlimited free SMS. Free also has one user and 30 jobs, while Starter includes unlimited users and 50 jobs.
- Does ServiceM8 charge per user?
- No. The vendor states it does not charge per user, and the only plan that limits users is the Free plan at 1 user. Starter at $29 per month covers unlimited users, so a 5-person cleaning crew pays $5.80 per person and an 8-person crew pays about $3.63 per person on that plan, before any SMS overage or add-ons.
- What happens if I go over my job limit on ServiceM8?
- The vendor says that if your monthly plan resets in time, your job credits reset, otherwise you are prompted to upgrade. Only Premium Plus lists a price for extra work: 20c per additional job beyond its 1500+ jobs per month. For example, 1,600 jobs in a month would add $20.00 to the $349 plan price, if the 1,500 figure is the included amount.
Sources — checked Oct 11, 2026
Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.