Cleaning Field Service Management
ServiceM8 Cost for a Cleaning Business at Every Tier
Work out which ServiceM8 tier your cleaning business needs from your monthly job count, and what the per-job cost falls to at 1, 3, 5 and 8 cleaners.
ServiceM8 costs a cleaning business $0, $29, $79, $149 or $349 a month, and the tier is set by how many new jobs you create per month, not how many cleaners you employ. The caps are 30, 50, 150, 500 and 1500+ jobs. Only the Free plan limits users, at one. Every paid tier lists unlimited users, so an eight-person crew pays the same as a solo operator on the same job volume.
Key points
- ServiceM8’s five US tiers are Free $0/mo (30 jobs, 1 user), Starter $29/mo (50 jobs), Growing $79/mo (150 jobs), Premium $149/mo (500 jobs) and Premium Plus $349/mo (1500+ jobs), all with unlimited users on the paid plans, per the ServiceM8 US pricing page.
- Cost per job falls sharply as you move up: $0.58 at Starter’s 50-job cap, $0.53 at Growing’s 150, $0.30 at Premium’s 500 and $0.23 at Premium Plus’s 1500.
- For a cleaning firm, recurring visits are the cost driver. A single weekly clean generates about 4.33 new jobs a month, so 35 weekly contracts already exceeds Growing’s 150-job cap.
- Auto Time Tracking is an add-on from $19/mo and is not included in any tier price; Bundles is $19/mo and requires Growing or above.
- Only Premium Plus publishes an overage rate, 20c per additional job. No other tier lists one, so overrunning a lower tier means upgrading.

What does each ServiceM8 tier cost and what do you get?
Five tiers, all priced per business in USD. The table below is transcribed from the published comparison table, with cost per job computed by dividing the monthly price by the plan’s job cap.

| Tier | Monthly price | New jobs/month | Users | SMS | Job overage | Cost per job at cap |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 | 1 | 10c per SMS | not published | $0.00 |
| Starter | $29 | 50 | Unlimited | Free | not published | $0.58 |
| Growing | $79 | 150 | Unlimited | Free | not published | $0.53 |
| Premium | $149 | 500 | Unlimited | Free | not published | $0.30 |
| Premium Plus | $349 | 1500+ | Unlimited | Free | 20c per job | $0.23 |
Working, tier by tier:
- Starter: 29 ÷ 50 = $0.58 per job
- Growing: 79 ÷ 150 = $0.5267, rounds to $0.53
- Premium: 149 ÷ 500 = $0.298, rounds to $0.30
- Premium Plus: 349 ÷ 1500 = $0.2327, rounds to $0.23
Note what that sequence does between Starter and Growing. Price rises 172% ($29 to $79) while the job cap rises 200% (50 to 150). Cost per job barely moves, from $0.58 to $0.53, a 9% improvement. The real efficiency gain arrives at Premium, where cost per job drops 43% against Growing. If you are choosing between Starter and Growing on price efficiency alone, there is almost nothing in it. Choose on whether you will exceed 50 jobs.
Every tier lists the same essentials: scheduling, photo branding, caller ID, unlimited data storage, recurring jobs, deposits, partial/progress invoices, supplier invoice importing, purchased forms, asset management, proposals, job costing and markup billing. Support is self-serve on Free and 24/7 on all paid tiers. Building your own forms, rather than buying from the Form Store, requires Growing or above.
How many cleaning jobs a month does each tier actually cover?
This is the calculation that decides your bill, and no ServiceM8 page does it for you. ServiceM8 meters new jobs created per month. Cleaning is a recurring-visit trade, so the conversion from contracts to jobs is where firms misjudge their tier.

Assumptions, stated up front because they change the answer:
- 52 weeks a year ÷ 12 months = 4.333 visits per month for a weekly contract.
- Fortnightly = 2.167/month. Monthly = 1.0. Twice-weekly = 8.667. Daily commercial, five days a week = 21.67.
- One visit creates one new job. This is the assumption most worth verifying with ServiceM8 directly, because a recurring job template might be metered differently. See the unverified section below.
- One-off deep cleans and move-out cleans are counted separately, one job each.
Contracts you can carry before hitting each cap:
| Visit frequency | Jobs/month per contract | Free (30) | Starter (50) | Growing (150) | Premium (500) | Premium Plus (1500) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly | 1.00 | 30 contracts | 50 | 150 | 500 | 1500 |
| Fortnightly | 2.17 | 13 | 23 | 69 | 230 | 692 |
| Weekly | 4.33 | 6 | 11 | 34 | 115 | 346 |
| Twice weekly | 8.67 | 3 | 5 | 17 | 57 | 173 |
| Daily (5 days) | 21.67 | 1 | 2 | 6 | 23 | 69 |
Working for the weekly row: Free 30 ÷ 4.333 = 6.9, so 6 whole contracts. Starter 50 ÷ 4.333 = 11.5, so 11. Growing 150 ÷ 4.333 = 34.6, so 34. Premium 500 ÷ 4.333 = 115.4, so 115. Premium Plus 1500 ÷ 4.333 = 346.2, so 346.
The daily row is the one that catches commercial janitorial firms. Six five-day-a-week office contracts consume the entire Growing cap of 150. A janitorial company with 24 daily contracts is on Premium Plus at $349/mo, while a residential firm with 24 fortnightly contracts (52 jobs a month) sits on Growing at $79/mo. Same client count, 4.4x the software bill, purely because of visit frequency.
What does ServiceM8 cost per cleaner at 1, 3, 5 and 8 users?
Nothing changes in the bill. That is the point, and it is worth putting numbers on because per-user pricing is the norm in this category.
Since ServiceM8 states it does not charge per user, and only Free caps users at one, the monthly total is flat across headcount. What moves is the effective cost per cleaner per month:
| Tier | 1 cleaner | 3 cleaners | 5 cleaners | 8 cleaners |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free ($0) | $0.00 | not available (1 user cap) | not available | not available |
| Starter ($29) | $29.00 | $9.67 | $5.80 | $3.63 |
| Growing ($79) | $79.00 | $26.33 | $15.80 | $9.88 |
| Premium ($149) | $149.00 | $49.67 | $29.80 | $18.63 |
| Premium Plus ($349) | $349.00 | $116.33 | $69.80 | $43.63 |
Working: Growing at 5 cleaners is 79 ÷ 5 = $15.80. Premium Plus at 8 is 349 ÷ 8 = $43.63.
Read that alongside the job table and a pattern falls out for cleaning specifically. Crew size and job volume are only loosely coupled in this trade. Two cleaners working as a pair on daily commercial contracts generate far more jobs than five cleaners doing fortnightly domestic rounds solo. So the per-cleaner figures above are not a budgeting tool on their own. Your tier comes from the job table; this table only tells you what that tier works out to per head once you have picked it.
What is the annual cost, and what does an upgrade cost you over a year?
Annualised at 12 months, with the step-up cost from the tier below:
| Tier | Monthly | Annual (12 × monthly) | Step up from tier below, per year | Extra jobs bought | Cost per extra job |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | — | — | — |
| Starter | $29 | $348 | $348 | 20/mo | $1.45 |
| Growing | $79 | $948 | $600 | 100/mo | $0.50 |
| Premium | $149 | $1,788 | $840 | 350/mo | $0.20 |
| Premium Plus | $349 | $4,188 | $2,400 | 1000/mo | $0.20 |
Working for the Growing step: ($79 − $29) × 12 = $600 a year. It buys 100 extra jobs a month, so 600 ÷ (100 × 12) = $0.50 per marginal job. Premium: ($149 − $79) × 12 = $840, buying 350 extra jobs a month, 840 ÷ 4200 = $0.20. Premium Plus: ($349 − $149) × 12 = $2,400, buying 1000 more, 2400 ÷ 12000 = $0.20.
The Free-to-Starter step is the expensive one at $1.45 per marginal job, five to seven times the marginal cost of every step above it. If you are on Free purely for the 30 jobs and do not need the second user, the jump to Starter is poor value on job credits alone. It is good value on two other things: unlimited users, and free SMS replacing 10c per message.
That SMS point is worth a reverse calculation. How much SMS do you need to send before Starter pays for itself against Free? At 10c per SMS on Free, $29 buys 290 messages. So if your cleaning business sends more than 290 texts a month (appointment reminders, on-the-way alerts, invoice notices), Starter is cheaper than Free before you count a single extra job credit. A firm running 30 jobs a month with three texts per job sends 90, well under. A firm sending reminder plus on-the-way plus follow-up on 100 monthly visits sends 300, and is past the line. Note the caveat in the unverified section: paid plans have an SMS cap that is not published, so “free” SMS on Starter is not unlimited SMS.
Which tier should a cleaning business pick?
Match your monthly visit count to the caps, then check the add-ons separately.
- Solo domestic cleaner, under 30 visits a month, no staff: Free. It costs nothing and includes scheduling, invoicing and payments. Budget for SMS at 10c each.
- Solo or two-person, 30 to 50 visits: Starter at $29. The unlimited-user allowance is the reason to move off Free the moment you take on a second person, regardless of job count.
- Growing domestic firm, 50 to 150 visits, roughly 11 to 34 weekly contracts: Growing at $79. Also the entry point for building your own forms and for the Bundles add-on.
- Established residential or light commercial, 150 to 500 visits: Premium at $149. Cost per job drops to $0.30.
- Commercial janitorial with daily contracts, over 500 visits: Premium Plus at $349, the only tier with published overage at 20c per job.
What do the add-ons cost on top?
Two add-ons carry a price on the pricing page, and neither is included in any tier.
- Auto Time Tracking: from $19/mo. Listed as $19/mo on every tier including Free. It clocks staff on and off shifts and checks them in and out of jobs using GPS. The “from” wording means $19 is a floor, not necessarily your price.
- Bundles: $19/mo, available on Growing and up. Described as streamlining pricing, quoting and invoicing.
Real totals with both add-ons, assuming the $19 floor applies:
| Tier | Base | + Auto Time Tracking | + Bundles | Total | Annual |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $19 | not available | $19 | $228 |
| Starter | $29 | $19 | not available | $48 | $576 |
| Growing | $79 | $19 | $19 | $117 | $1,404 |
| Premium | $149 | $19 | $19 | $187 | $2,244 |
| Premium Plus | $349 | $19 | $19 | $387 | $4,644 |
Auto Time Tracking changes the Free plan’s economics completely. A solo cleaner adding it pays $228 a year on a plan advertised at $0. On Growing, both add-ons raise the annual bill 48%, from $948 to $1,404.
There is also ServiceM8 Phone, which the page describes as a single monthly price with no per-user fees. The page states both a 1-month free trial and a 3-month free trial in different places, and gives no monthly price. Treat the price as unpublished.
Two things cleaning firms get wrong about this pricing
Misconception 1: “Unlimited users means the price is flat as we grow.” It is flat as headcount grows. It is not flat as work grows, and in cleaning the two move together. Add four cleaners and you have not added a cent in user fees, but if those four are each running 25 visits a month you have added 100 jobs, which is the entire gap between Starter and Growing. The correct statement is: ServiceM8 charges for volume and gives away seats. Going from 3 cleaners at 90 visits a month (Growing, $79) to 8 cleaners at 240 visits (Premium, $149) is an 89% price rise on a 167% headcount rise. Better than per-user, not flat.
Misconception 2: “Free SMS on paid plans means texts are free.” ServiceM8’s comparison table lists text messaging as Free on all four paid tiers, but its FAQ separately refers to “a standard SMS overage fee per SMS sent over your plan’s monthly SMS cap”. So there is a cap. Its size is not published on the pricing page for any paid tier, and neither is the overage rate. A cleaning firm sending three texts per visit at Premium’s 500-job cap would be sending 1,500 messages a month. Whether that is inside the cap cannot be determined from published material.
When these numbers will be wrong for you
- If a recurring job template counts as one job rather than one per visit, every figure in the contracts table is far too conservative and most cleaning firms would sit two tiers lower than shown. This single assumption swings the answer more than anything else on the page.
- If ServiceM8 counts a job at completion rather than creation, firms that schedule a quarter ahead will see spiky monthly usage rather than the smooth averages assumed here.
- If you use the Learning Roadmap. ServiceM8 states that progressing through it unlocks higher job and SMS limits, plan upgrades and access to higher tier add-ons. None of those unlocks are quantified, so a firm that works through it may sit on a lower tier than the job table suggests, at an amount that cannot be calculated.
- If your mix is one-off rather than recurring. Move-out and post-construction cleans are one job each, so a firm doing 40 one-offs a month fits Starter, while a firm with 10 weekly contracts (43 jobs) also fits Starter but has nowhere near the same revenue.
- Mid-month upgrades. ServiceM8 says there are no lock-ins and credit from a previous plan applies pro-rata, so a mid-month move will not cost a full month at both tiers. The annual figures above assume 12 clean months on one tier.
- Payment processing. Mobile payments are listed as an essential on all plans, but no processing rate or percentage appears anywhere on the pricing page. Card fees are not in any total above.
What could not be verified
The ServiceM8 pricing page is the only source used here, and several figures a cleaning business needs are not on it:
- SMS caps on paid plans. The page confirms a cap and an overage fee exist but states neither the number of included messages nor the overage rate for Starter, Growing, Premium or Premium Plus. Only the Free plan’s 10c per SMS is published.
- Job overage on Free, Starter, Growing and Premium. The comparison row shows ”-” for all four. Only Premium Plus lists 20c per job.
- ServiceM8 Phone’s monthly price. Described as a single affordable monthly price. No figure is given.
- The upper bound of “from $19/mo” Auto Time Tracking. The floor is published; what raises it is not.
- Whether recurring cleans consume one job credit per visit. The page confirms Recurring Jobs is a feature on all plans and that plans include a number of new jobs per month, but does not state how the two interact. This is the most important unresolved question for this trade.
- Payment processing rates. Not published.
- Annual or prepaid discounts. Not published. All annual figures here are 12 × the monthly price.
- Free trial length. The page states a 14-day free trial in one place and, for ServiceM8 Phone, both a 1-month and a 3-month free trial in different places. The Phone trial length is contradictory as published.
No other vendor’s pricing was checked for this article, so nothing here is a comparison against ServiceM8’s competitors.
What to check before you buy
- Ask how recurring visits consume job credits. Get it in writing. If each visit burns a credit, count your visits, not your clients, and use the contracts table above.
- Ask for the SMS cap and overage rate in dollars for your tier. If you send reminders and on-the-way alerts on every visit, this can be a bigger line item than the subscription. Free plan users can price it exactly at 10c per SMS.
- Ask for the job overage rate on your tier. Only Premium Plus publishes one. On the other four, find out whether exceeding the cap blocks job creation until reset or triggers a forced upgrade.
- Price Auto Time Tracking for your actual headcount. It is “from $19/mo”, so establish what an eight-cleaner crew pays before assuming $19.
- Ask what the Learning Roadmap unlocks in numbers. Higher job and SMS limits are promised without figures. If it moves you from Growing to Premium capacity at Growing’s price, that is $840 a year.
- Get the payment processing rate. Mobile payments are on every plan and cost nothing to enable, but the transaction rate is not published and will exceed the subscription for most cleaning firms.
- Run the 14-day trial at your real volume. The page states full feature access during the trial and that payment details are only needed to subscribe. Create a fortnight of real jobs and read the counter.
- Confirm prices are current. Everything here was taken from the ServiceM8 US pricing page on 28 August 2026 and is in USD.
Read next
- Cleaning Business Software: Published Prices Compared
- HVAC Business Software: Every Published Price Compared
- Pest Control Software Pricing Compared
- ServiceM8 vs Kickserv: Cost for a 10-Person Plumbing Crew
Also worth reading: ServiceM8 Cost When You Add Office Staff Seats
Also worth reading: ServiceM8 Plan Tiers for Cleaning Businesses
Common questions
- How much does ServiceM8 cost per month?
- ServiceM8 publishes five US tiers: Free at $0/mo, Starter at $29/mo, Growing at $79/mo, Premium at $149/mo and Premium Plus at $349/mo. The price is per business, not per user. Only the Free plan caps users, at 1. Every paid tier lists unlimited users. What separates the tiers is the number of new jobs you can create each month: 30, 50, 150, 500 and 1500+ respectively.
- Does ServiceM8 charge per user?
- No. ServiceM8 states plainly that it does not charge per user, and the only plan limiting user count is the Free plan, which allows 1 user. Starter, Growing, Premium and Premium Plus all list unlimited users at $29, $79, $149 and $349 per month. For a cleaning business this matters more than for most trades, because crews are large relative to revenue. Eight cleaners on Growing cost the same $79/mo as one.
- What counts as a job in ServiceM8 and will recurring cleans use up my limit?
- ServiceM8 says each plan includes a number of new jobs per month, and gives the example that on Growing you can create 150 new jobs each month. Recurring Jobs is listed as a feature on all plans. Because the metered unit is a new job created, a weekly clean for one client will generate roughly 4.3 new jobs a month, not one. Confirm this with ServiceM8 before choosing a tier, since it drives your tier more than headcount does.
- What happens if I go over my ServiceM8 job limit?
- ServiceM8 states that if your monthly plan resets in that time, your job credits reset; otherwise you are prompted to upgrade. Only Premium Plus lists overage pricing, at 20c per additional job. On the lower tiers there is no published per-job overage rate, so the practical outcome of exceeding the cap is an upgrade rather than a metered charge. There are no lock-in contracts, and credit from a previous plan is applied pro-rata.
- How much are ServiceM8 text messages?
- On the Free plan, SMS costs 10c per message. On Starter, Growing, Premium and Premium Plus the comparison table lists text messaging as Free. ServiceM8 also refers to a standard SMS overage fee per message sent over a plan's monthly SMS cap, but the cap figure for each paid tier is not stated on the pricing page, so the point at which a paid plan starts charging for SMS cannot be worked out from published information.
Sources — checked Aug 28, 2026
Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.