JobsiteCompare

Plumbing Field Service Management

ServiceM8 SMS and Add-On Charges Explained

Work out your real ServiceM8 bill: SMS at 10c, job overage at 20c, add-ons at $19/mo, and the 290-SMS point where the Free plan stops being free.

By TraderX Verified Sep 5, 2026 Published Sep 5, 2026
ServiceM8 SMS and Add-On Charges Explained — Field Service Management pricing comparison

ServiceM8 publishes two usage charges and two add-on prices. Text messaging is 10c per SMS on the Free plan and marked Free on all four paid plans. Jobs above the Premium Plus allowance are 20c each. Auto Time Tracking is from $19/mo and Bundles is $19/mo. Everything else is bundled into the five monthly plan prices.

Key points

  • The Free plan’s 10c SMS rate crosses the $29 Starter price at exactly 290 messages a month, which is 9.67 SMS per job across its 30-job cap.
  • Premium Plus is the only tier that sells extra jobs, at 20c each above 1500; every other tier shows a dash and requires an upgrade instead.
  • Stacking Auto Time Tracking and Bundles adds $38/mo, which is 32.5% of a Growing bill but 9.8% of a Premium Plus bill.
  • Cost per job at each plan’s cap falls from $0.580 on Starter to $0.233 on Premium Plus, a 60% drop.
  • ServiceM8’s own page states both that SMS is Free on paid plans and that there is an overage fee above a monthly SMS cap; the cap is not published, so the paid-plan SMS ceiling cannot be verified.

A clean and modern kitchen sink with a chrome faucet, highlighting minimalist design and water conservation.

What are the assumptions behind these figures?

Every rate below comes from the ServiceM8 US pricing page as published on 5 September 2026. The calculations assume:

Close-up of a plumber's hands installing steel pipes indoors, showcasing skilled manual work.

  • Prices are in USD, as the page states, and exclude sales tax.
  • A “job” is a new job created in the month. ServiceM8 describes the allowance that way: on Growing you can create 150 new jobs each month.
  • Job credits reset when the monthly plan resets.
  • The 10c SMS rate applies to messages sent, not received.
  • Add-on prices are billed per business, not per user, in line with ServiceM8’s statement that it does not charge per user.
  • No Learning Roadmap credits are applied. ServiceM8 says progressing through the Roadmap can unlock higher job and SMS limits and plan upgrades, but publishes no values, so all tables below assume zero unlocked credit.

What does ServiceM8 cost at every job volume?

This is the table to scan for your own row. Column three picks the cheapest plan that covers that volume outright. Above 1500 jobs, only Premium Plus applies and the 20c overage is added.

Close-up of hands using tools from a toolset in a well-lit workshop setting.

New jobs/monthCheapest plan that covers itBaseOverage workingMonthly totalCost per job
10Free$0none$0.00$0.000
20Free$0none$0.00$0.000
30Free$0none$0.00$0.000
31Starter$29none$29.00$0.935
40Starter$29none$29.00$0.725
50Starter$29none$29.00$0.580
51Growing$79none$79.00$1.549
100Growing$79none$79.00$0.790
150Growing$79none$79.00$0.527
151Premium$149none$149.00$0.987
300Premium$149none$149.00$0.497
500Premium$149none$149.00$0.298
501Premium Plus$349none$349.00$0.697
1000Premium Plus$349none$349.00$0.349
1500Premium Plus$349none$349.00$0.233
1600Premium Plus$349100 x $0.20 = $20$369.00$0.231
2000Premium Plus$349500 x $0.20 = $100$449.00$0.225
2500Premium Plus$3491000 x $0.20 = $200$549.00$0.220
3000Premium Plus$3491500 x $0.20 = $300$649.00$0.216
5000Premium Plus$3493500 x $0.20 = $700$1,049.00$0.210

Two things fall out of the arithmetic. First, the worst value in the whole range is the row immediately after each cap: at 51 jobs you pay $1.549 per job, nearly triple the $0.527 you pay at 150 jobs on the same plan. Second, the 20c overage on Premium Plus is cheaper per job than every published tier cap except Premium Plus itself, so a shop at 3000 jobs is not being penalised much at $0.216 per job.

What does the Free plan’s 10c SMS actually cost you?

The Free plan is the only tier with a verifiable per-message price. It is also capped at 30 jobs and 1 user. This table varies two axes: jobs done and messages sent per job.

Jobs/month1 SMS/job2 SMS/job3 SMS/job5 SMS/job8 SMS/job10 SMS/job
10$1.00$2.00$3.00$5.00$8.00$10.00
15$1.50$3.00$4.50$7.50$12.00$15.00
20$2.00$4.00$6.00$10.00$16.00$20.00
25$2.50$5.00$7.50$12.50$20.00$25.00
30$3.00$6.00$9.00$15.00$24.00$30.00

Working for the bottom-right cell: 30 jobs x 10 SMS x $0.10 = $30.00.

Only one cell in the whole grid beats the $29 Starter price, and only by a dollar. A solo plumber running a booking confirmation, an on-my-way text and an invoice link is at 3 SMS per job. At 30 jobs that is $9.00 a month, so the Free plan stays cheaper than Starter by $20.00. The Free plan’s real constraint is the 30-job ceiling and the 10-AI-uses-per-day limit, not the messaging bill.

How many SMS would it take to make each paid plan cheaper?

Reverse the calculation. If the 10c rate were the only cost, how many messages equal each plan price?

Plan priceBreak-even SMS at 10cSMS/job at 30 jobsRealistic on Free plan?
Starter $292909.67Only at very heavy messaging
Growing $7979026.33No
Premium $1491,49049.67No
Premium Plus $3493,490116.33No

Working: $29 / $0.10 = 290. $79 / $0.10 = 790. $149 / $0.10 = 1,490. $349 / $0.10 = 3,490.

The conclusion is blunt. Nobody upgrades off the Free plan because of SMS cost. You upgrade because you crossed 30 jobs, or because you need a second login.

How much do the add-ons add?

Two add-ons carry published prices. Auto Time Tracking is listed at from $19/mo across every plan column, with a minimum plan of $19/mo in the feature list. Bundles is $19/mo and is marked available in Growing and up.

PlanBase+ Auto Time Tracking+ Bundles tooAnnual, fully loadedAdd-ons as % of bill
Free$0$19not offered$228100%
Starter $29$29$48not offered$57639.6%
Growing $79$79$98$117$1,40432.5%
Premium $149$149$168$187$2,24420.3%
Premium Plus $349$349$368$387$4,6449.8%

Working for Growing: $79 + $19 + $19 = $117/mo, x 12 = $1,404/yr. Add-on share = $38 / $117 = 32.5%.

The pattern matters when you are comparing quotes. A flat $38 of add-ons distorts a small shop’s bill far more than a large one’s. On Starter the same two features would represent nearly 40% of the bill, except Bundles is not sold there, so the practical Starter ceiling is $48.

Does unlimited users actually make it cheap per head?

This is the first misconception worth correcting with numbers. “No per-user fees” is often read as “cheap for a team”, but the plan price does not change with headcount, so per-user cost is entirely a function of how many people you put on it.

Plan1 user3 users5 users8 users12 users
Free $0$0.00not permittednot permittednot permittednot permitted
Starter $29$29.00$9.67$5.80$3.63$2.42
Growing $79$79.00$26.33$15.80$9.88$6.58
Premium $149$149.00$49.67$29.80$18.63$12.42
Premium Plus $349$349.00$116.33$69.80$43.63$29.08

Working for Growing at 8 users: $79 / 8 = $9.88.

A two-van plumbing outfit doing 140 jobs a month sits on Growing. With an owner, two techs and an office admin, that is four logins at $19.75 each. The same firm on Premium because it crossed 150 jobs pays $37.25 per login for identical features, since ServiceM8 states every plan includes all the essentials. You are buying job credits, not seats.

Which two beliefs about this pricing are wrong?

Misconception 1: a higher plan gets you more features. ServiceM8 states every plan includes all the essentials: job cards, scheduling, quotes, invoices, email and SMS, mobile payments and accounting integrations. The Free plan can buy and use any of the 250-plus Form Store forms. The genuine feature gates are narrow: building your own forms requires Growing or higher, and Bundles is Growing and up. So the $70 step from Starter to Growing buys 100 extra jobs plus form building plus access to a $19 add-on, and the $200 step from Premium to Premium Plus buys 1000 extra job credits and nothing else that is published.

Misconception 2: SMS is unlimited once you pay. The comparison table shows Free in the Text Messaging row for all four paid plans. The FAQ on the same page says there is a standard SMS overage fee per SMS sent over your plan’s monthly SMS cap, and directs you to the comparison table for the number. The comparison table does not contain a cap or an overage rate. Both statements are on the page; they do not reconcile. Treat paid-plan SMS as included up to an unpublished ceiling, not as unlimited.

What could not be verified?

  • The paid-plan SMS cap and overage rate. As above, the page references a cap and a per-message overage fee for paid plans but publishes neither figure.
  • ServiceM8 Phone’s monthly price. The page describes Caller ID, unlimited users and a free trial, and states the product “comes at a single, affordable monthly price”. No dollar amount appears. It also states both a 1-month free trial and a 3-month free trial in two places on the same page, so even the trial length is not settled. It is excluded from every table above.
  • The Learning Roadmap credit values. ServiceM8 says progressing through the Roadmap unlocks higher job and SMS limits, plan upgrades and higher-tier add-ons. No unlock thresholds or credit amounts are published.
  • The “from” in “from $19/mo” for Auto Time Tracking. The wording implies a higher price under some conditions. The conditions are not stated, so $19 is treated as a floor.
  • The Premium Plus job allowance. It is listed as “1500+”, not a fixed number. The overage arithmetic above assumes billing starts at 1501 jobs.

No other vendor pricing page was available for checking today, so this article compares ServiceM8 plans against each other only. No cross-vendor figures are stated.

When are these numbers wrong for you?

  • You bill sales tax or are outside the US. The page states prices are in USD on the US pricing page. A different regional page may carry different figures.
  • You changed plan mid-month. ServiceM8 says there are no lock-ins and that credit from a previous plan is applied to the new one pro rata. A switching month’s invoice will not match any row above.
  • You unlocked Roadmap credits. Any unlocked job or SMS allowance shifts your break-even downward by an amount that cannot be calculated from published data.
  • Your job count is seasonal. The tables assume a steady monthly volume. A plumbing business at 120 jobs in March and 190 in July does not fit one row. ServiceM8’s FAQ describes being prompted to upgrade when you exceed the allowance, so the July spike either forces a $70 step to Premium or stalls job creation. Averaging the year hides that.
  • You count a job differently from ServiceM8. The allowance counts new jobs created. Recurring work, revisits under warranty and jobs cancelled after creation all affect the count in ways the page does not detail.
  • You need more than one login on the Free plan. The Free plan is 1 user. The moment a second person needs access, the practical minimum is $29 regardless of job volume.

What should you check before subscribing?

  1. Ask for the paid-plan SMS cap in writing. It is the one material number the pricing page references but does not state. Get it as a figure per month and get the overage rate per message.
  2. Count your actual new jobs for the last three months, not your average. Use the highest of the three against the full-range table. The row after each cap is the expensive one.
  3. Ask what ServiceM8 Phone costs. It appears in the feature comparison with a free trial but no price, so it is an unpriced line item on your future bill.
  4. Decide on add-ons before you compare tiers. At $38/mo for both, Auto Time Tracking and Bundles change a Growing quote by a third.
  5. Check whether you need form building. If off-the-shelf Form Store certificates cover your compliance paperwork, that removes one of the two published reasons to move from Starter to Growing.
  6. Confirm the trial terms. ServiceM8 advertises a 14-day free trial with full access to all features and says payment details are only required to subscribe. Confirm the ServiceM8 Phone trial length separately, given the page states both one month and three months.

All figures above are from the ServiceM8 US pricing page as published on 5 September 2026. This site does not use ServiceM8 and reports only what the vendor publishes. Prices change without notice; check the page before you buy.


Common questions

How much does ServiceM8 charge per SMS?
ServiceM8's published plan comparison lists text messaging at 10c per SMS on the Free plan, and marks it Free on the Starter ($29/mo), Growing ($79/mo), Premium ($149/mo) and Premium Plus ($349/mo) plans. The same page separately says there is a standard SMS overage fee per SMS sent over your plan's monthly SMS cap, but the cap number and the overage rate are not published in the comparison table. So the 10c figure is verifiable for the Free plan only.
At what SMS volume does the ServiceM8 Free plan cost more than Starter?
290 SMS in a month. The Free plan charges 10c per SMS, so 290 x $0.10 = $29.00, which equals the Starter monthly price. Below 290 SMS the Free plan is cheaper on messaging; above it Starter is. Spread over the Free plan's 30-job cap, 290 SMS is 9.67 messages per job. A plumber sending an on-my-way text, an arrival text and an invoice text is at roughly 3 per job, or 90 SMS and $9.00 a month.
What does ServiceM8 charge for jobs over your plan limit?
Only Premium Plus publishes a per-job overage rate: 20c per additional job above its 1500-job allowance. The Free, Starter, Growing and Premium rows in the comparison table show a dash for additional jobs, meaning no overage is sold. ServiceM8's FAQ says that if you go over, you are prompted to upgrade unless your monthly plan resets first. At 2000 jobs the Premium Plus bill is $349 + (500 x $0.20) = $449.
Does ServiceM8 charge per user?
No. ServiceM8 states it does not charge per user, and the only plan limiting user count is the Free plan at 1 user. Starter, Growing, Premium and Premium Plus all list Unlimited Users. The effective per-user cost therefore falls as you add staff: Growing at $79/mo is $79.00 for one user, $26.33 for three, $15.80 for five and $9.88 for eight. Job volume, not headcount, is what moves you up a tier.
How much do ServiceM8 add-ons cost on top of the plan?
Two add-ons carry published prices: Auto Time Tracking from $19/mo, and Bundles at $19/mo, with Bundles available on Growing and up. Both together add $38/mo, or $456 a year. On Growing that takes the monthly bill from $79 to $117, so add-ons are 32.5% of the total. On Premium Plus the same $38 is 9.8% of $387. ServiceM8 Phone is listed with a free trial but no monthly price.

Sources — checked Sep 5, 2026

  1. ServiceM8 — Pricing
  2. ServiceM8 — Home

Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.