JobsiteCompare

HVAC Accounting

Payroll and Accounting Add-On Fees: ServiceTitan vs Kickserv

Neither vendor publishes a stand-alone payroll or accounting fee; here is exactly what each pricing page states and what remains unverified.

By TraderX Verified Sep 7, 2026 Published Aug 9, 2026 Updated Sep 7, 2026
Payroll and Accounting Add-On Fees: ServiceTitan vs Kickserv — Accounting pricing comparison

Neither vendor publishes a separate payroll or accounting add-on fee. ServiceTitan does not publish any price at all, requiring a custom quote for its Essentials, The Works and Unlock Value packages, each of which lists Payroll Management (or Configurable Payroll) and Accounting as included feature names. Kickserv publishes tiered monthly plan prices from $60 to $199 and lists Accounting integration (QuickBooks Online) as included in its Start plan, with no stated payroll feature and no separate integration charge.

What ServiceTitan publishes

ServiceTitan’s pricing page describes per-technician pricing across three packages: Essentials, The Works, and a features tier it calls Unlock Value. Each package lists the same core feature set: Dispatching, Scheduling, Call Booking, Invoicing, Pricebook, Mobile Estimates, Advanced Reporting, Commission Tracking and Customizable Memberships. Essentials lists “Payroll Management” as an included item. The Works lists “Configurable Payroll” instead, suggesting more flexibility at that tier, though the page gives no detail on what that flexibility includes or costs.

A technician skillfully repairs a PCB using a microscope in a modern electronics lab.

Accounting appears twice in the site’s own feature navigation, once as “Accounting” and once as “Accounting Integrations,” both listed as top-level product features rather than priced add-ons.

Every package on the page ends with the same call to action: “Request Pricing.” There is no dollar figure, no per-technician rate, and no minimum user count stated anywhere on the page. A contractor cannot calculate a monthly or annual cost from this page alone.

What Kickserv publishes

Kickserv’s pricing page is the only one of the two that states actual numbers. It lists three named plans with monthly pricing and a user-count cap per plan:

PlanUsers includedMonthly priceAccounting integrationKickback minimum (monthly processing)
Start5$60/moQuickBooks Online, included$1,000
Run10$119/moNot separately listed$2,000
Scale20$199/moNot separately listed$3,000

The page states Accounting integration (QuickBooks Online) explicitly only under the Start plan’s feature list. Run and Scale are described as building on Start (“Great for a team needing more users…”), but the page does not repeat the accounting line item for those two tiers, so it should not be assumed identical without confirming directly with Kickserv.

A fourth plan name, Premium, is referenced only in the Kickback section (“Start, Run, Scale, and Premium users will receive a 5% discount”). No price, user count or feature list for Premium appears anywhere on the page.

The arithmetic Kickserv’s page implies

Dividing the monthly price by the included user count gives a rough per-user rate for each Kickserv plan:

Technician working on AC PCB with tools and equipment, captured in New Delhi workshop.

  • Start: $60 / 5 users = $12.00 per user, per month
  • Run: $119 / 10 users = $11.90 per user, per month
  • Scale: $199 / 20 users = $9.95 per user, per month

The per-user rate falls as the plan size increases, which is the expected shape for tiered flat-fee software. The page also states a 20% discount for annual billing on each plan, though it does not give the resulting annual dollar figure directly, only the percentage.

Because each plan is a flat monthly fee up to its user cap rather than a strict per-seat charge, the per-user cost is worse the fewer people actually use it. A solo operator on Start pays the full $60/mo for 1 active user — $60.00 per user, five times the plan’s nominal $12.00 rate at full capacity. That gap closes only as headcount climbs toward the plan’s cap.

For a team of 8 users, none of the three published Kickserv tiers is an exact fit. A contractor at that size would either pay for the 10-user Run plan at $119/mo and use 8 of the 10 seats, or contact Kickserv about the unpriced Premium tier. Paying for Run and using 8 seats works out to $14.88 per active user, higher than the plan’s nominal $11.90 rate at full capacity, because two of the ten seats go unused.

For a team of 3 users, the only published option below Run is Start at $60/mo, again with unused capacity: $20.00 per active user against a 5-user allotment.

Because Start is capped at 5 users, its per-user rate can never fall below $12.00/mo no matter how close a team gets to that cap — a contractor who expects to grow past 5 users is really deciding whether to overpay per-seat on Start now or move to Run’s $119/mo tier early, where the nominal rate is already lower at $11.90/mo per user once all 10 seats are filled.

Monthly vs. annual totals

Kickserv’s page states a 20% discount for annual billing without showing the resulting dollar totals. Applying that percentage to the published monthly fees, multiplied by 12 months, gives the following:

PlanMonthly total (×12)Annual total after 20% discountAmount saved vs. paying monthly
Start$720.00$576.00$144.00
Run$1,428.00$1,142.40$285.60
Scale$2,388.00$1,910.40$477.60

These figures are arithmetic on the numbers Kickserv already publishes (monthly price × 12, less the stated 20%), not a separately confirmed annual price point — a contractor should still verify the exact annual invoice amount with Kickserv before budgeting against it, since the page does not itemize the annual rate directly.

The Kickback discount, worked through

Kickserv’s Kickback programme gives Start, Run, Scale and Premium subscribers 5% off their monthly subscription fee, conditional on processing a minimum dollar volume in online payments through Kickserv each month. The stated minimums are $1,000 for Start, $2,000 for Run and $3,000 for Scale (Premium’s minimum is not stated). On annual billing, the monthly minimum is multiplied by 12 to set the annual threshold.

Electrician performing solar battery installation for sustainable energy storage in a home setting.

Applying the 5% figure to the published monthly fees:

PlanMonthly feeKickback discount (5%)Fee after Kickback
Start$60$3.00$57.00
Run$119$5.95$113.05
Scale$199$9.95$189.05

Carrying the same monthly minimums out to a full year: Start requires $12,000 in annual processing volume to keep qualifying, Run requires $24,000, and Scale requires $36,000. Against a $3.00 to $9.95 monthly discount, that is a meaningful volume commitment for a relatively small saving on the subscription line — the discount only makes sense to chase if the contractor was already planning to route that much payment volume through Kickserv regardless.

This discount applies to the subscription fee, not to a payroll or accounting line item. The Kickserv page does not describe payment-processing rates (the percentage or per-transaction fee charged on the payments themselves), so the true cost of qualifying for Kickback, meaning what a contractor pays in processing fees to hit the $1,000 to $3,000 monthly minimum, cannot be calculated from this page.

What could not be verified

  • ServiceTitan’s base price for any package. Essentials, The Works and Unlock Value are all listed as “Request Pricing” with no dollar figure.
  • Any stand-alone fee for ServiceTitan’s Payroll Management, Configurable Payroll, or Accounting features. These are named as included items inside unpriced packages, not as priced add-ons.
  • Any stand-alone fee for Kickserv’s accounting integration. It is listed as included under the Start plan; whether it is included under Run and Scale, or costs extra there, is not stated.
  • Kickserv Premium plan price, user count, and feature list. The name appears once, in the Kickback section, with no supporting detail.
  • Payment processing rates for either vendor. Neither page states a percentage or flat fee per transaction, so the real cost of running payroll-linked or customer payments through either platform is not available from these pages.

Payroll processing itself, regardless of which software a contractor uses to run it, is also subject to federal employment tax withholding and deposit rules. The IRS publishes the current requirements for federal income tax withholding, Social Security and Medicare taxes, and deposit schedules that apply to any employer running payroll in the US, independent of which software vendor is used.

What to check before buying

  • Ask ServiceTitan for a written quote that separates the base package fee from any payroll or accounting module fee, and get the per-technician rate in writing.
  • Ask Kickserv directly whether Accounting integration (QuickBooks Online) is included at the Run and Scale tiers, since the published page states it only under Start.
  • Ask Kickserv for the Premium plan’s price, user cap and feature list before assuming it is a simple step up from Scale.
  • Ask both vendors for their payment processing rate (percentage and any per-transaction fee), since this determines the real cost of accepting payments through either platform, and for Kickserv, determines how much it costs to qualify for the Kickback subscription discount.
  • Confirm whether either vendor’s payroll feature files and remits taxes on the contractor’s behalf or only tracks hours and wages, since that changes what other software or services a contractor still needs to stay compliant with IRS payroll tax rules.
  • Before committing to annual billing on any Kickserv plan, confirm the exact annual invoice total in writing rather than relying on the 20% figure applied to the monthly rate, since Kickserv’s page does not itemize the annual price directly.

Also worth reading: Accounting Sync Fees: ServiceM8, FieldPulse and LMN Compared

Also worth reading: FieldPulse vs ServiceTitan: Cost for a 25-Person HVAC Team


Common questions

Does ServiceTitan charge extra for payroll or accounting features?
ServiceTitan's pricing page does not state a separate fee. Payroll Management (Essentials, The Works tier lists it as Configurable Payroll) and Accounting appear as included feature names inside its Essentials, Works and Unlock Value packages, but no price is published for any package. A contractor must request pricing directly to learn what these features cost. Because no base rate is published, it is also impossible to say whether Payroll Management and Configurable Payroll carry the same underlying cost or whether the more flexible Works-tier version is priced higher — that distinction can only come from a direct quote.
Does Kickserv charge extra for its QuickBooks Online accounting integration?
The Kickserv pricing page lists Accounting integration (QuickBooks Online) as an included feature of its Start plan, which costs $60/mo for 5 users. No separate line-item fee for the integration is stated on the page. Because the page does not repeat that feature line under Run ($119/mo, 10 users) or Scale ($199/mo, 20 users), a contractor on either of those tiers should confirm directly with Kickserv that the integration carries over rather than assume it based on Start's listing alone.
Does Kickserv have a payroll feature?
The Kickserv pricing page does not list a payroll feature under any plan. It lists time tracking and expense tracking as included features, and accounting integration with QuickBooks Online, but payroll itself is not named on the page. A contractor who needs to run payroll, not just track hours and expenses, would need to pair Kickserv with a separate payroll product or service, since nothing on the pricing page suggests Kickserv files or remits payroll taxes on its own.
What is the Kickserv Kickback discount and does it apply to accounting or payroll?
Kickback is a payment-processing discount, not an accounting or payroll fee. Start, Run, Scale and Premium users get 5% off their monthly subscription fee if they process a minimum volume in online payments each month: $1,000 for Start, $2,000 for Run, and $3,000 for Scale. On annual plans that minimum is multiplied by 12, which works out to $12,000 processed per year for Start, $24,000 for Run and $36,000 for Scale. Applied to the published monthly fees, the 5% discount is worth $3.00/mo off Start, $5.95/mo off Run and $9.95/mo off Scale — small in isolation, but the qualifying processing minimum is the larger commitment a contractor is actually agreeing to.
Can I compare ServiceTitan and Kickserv on price today?
Not on payroll or accounting fees specifically. ServiceTitan publishes no price at all for any package on its pricing page, so a like-for-like comparison against Kickserv's published $60 to $199 per month plans is not possible from the source pages alone. Even on Kickserv's side, annualized totals ($720/yr for Start, $1,428/yr for Run, $2,388/yr for Scale before the stated 20% annual discount) only describe the base subscription — they say nothing about what ServiceTitan would charge for an equivalent package, since ServiceTitan's own figures are gated behind a sales conversation.

Sources — checked Sep 7, 2026

  1. ServiceTitan — Pricing
  2. Kickserv — Pricing

Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.