ServiceM8 Pricing for a Solo HVAC Technician
See what a solo HVAC tech pays on ServiceM8's Free, Starter and Growing plans, with job caps, SMS fees and add-ons worked out.
A solo HVAC technician pays $0 a month on ServiceM8’s Free plan for up to 30 new jobs, or $29 a month on Starter for up to 50. Free charges 10 cents per text message, while paid plans list texting as free. Add-ons raise the total. Figures come from the ServiceM8 US pricing page, checked on 2026-11-01.
Key points
- The Free plan costs $0 a month, allows 1 user and 30 new jobs a month, and charges 10 cents per SMS.
- Starter ($29), Growing ($79), Premium ($149) and Premium Plus ($349) all list unlimited users, so the price depends on job volume and not on headcount.
- On our assumed 4 texts per job, Free stays cheaper than Starter until texting passes 290 messages a month, but Free stops at 30 jobs.
- Custom forms need Growing at $79 a month or higher, while pre-made forms from the Form Store are open to every plan.

What does ServiceM8 charge a solo technician?
ServiceM8 publishes five plans in US dollars, and a solo HVAC technician realistically looks at the first three. The table below is copied from the plan list and comparison table on the vendor pricing page.

| Plan | Monthly price | Users | New jobs per month | Text messaging |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 1 | 30 | 10 cents per SMS |
| Starter | $29 | Unlimited | 50 | Free |
| Growing | $79 | Unlimited | 150 | Free |
| Premium | $149 | Unlimited | 500 | Free |
| Premium Plus | $349 | Unlimited | 1500+ | Free |
Two other lines in the comparison table matter. Premium Plus is the only plan with a published per-job overage, at 20 cents per job. Data storage is listed as unlimited on every plan, and support is listed as self-serve on Free and 24/7 email and chat on the paid plans.
The page also says every plan includes the essentials: job cards, scheduling, quotes, invoices, email and SMS, mobile payments and accounting integrations. For a one-person shop that covers the basic loop of booking a call, quoting, invoicing and taking payment on site. It does not say which accounting systems are supported, so check that before relying on it.
Is Free or Starter cheaper for one technician?
Free is cheaper until text messages cost more than the $29 gap, and that point is 290 texts a month. Starter costs $29 and Free costs $0, and Free texts are 10 cents each, so $29 divided by $0.10 is 290 messages. Beyond that, Starter’s free texting wins on cost alone.

This is arithmetic on published prices, not a measurement of any real account. The text volume per job is our assumption. The table below uses 4 texts per job (for example a booking confirmation, an on-the-way notice, a reminder and an invoice notice).
| Jobs per month | Plan that fits | Base price | Texts at 4 per job | SMS cost | Total per month |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20 | Free | $0 | 80 | $8.00 | $8.00 |
| 30 | Free | $0 | 120 | $12.00 | $12.00 |
| 30 | Starter | $29 | 120 | $0 | $29.00 |
| 45 | Starter | $29 | 180 | $0 | $29.00 |
| 60 | Growing | $79 | 240 | $0 | $79.00 |
At 30 jobs, Free works out $17.00 cheaper per month than Starter, which is $204 over 12 months. The break-even in texts per job at 30 jobs is 290 divided by 30, or about 9.7. A tech who texts more than roughly 9 or 10 times per job should price Starter instead.
The key limit is the job cap. The Free plan stops at 30 new jobs and Starter stops at 50. If a month runs over, the page says the plan “resets” within the month or you are prompted to upgrade. It does not publish a per-job overage for these plans.
How many jobs does a solo HVAC tech create in a month?
We do not know your volume, and the vendor does not publish a typical figure, so treat this section as an assumption. A technician who books two calls a day over about 21 working days creates around 42 jobs. That sits above the Free cap and inside Starter.
Seasonal swings matter more than the average for HVAC. A summer cooling rush or a first cold snap can push a month well above a typical one. Because the paid plans step from 50 to 150 jobs and from $29 to $79, one busy month can move the bill by $50. The pricing page states there are no lock-ins and that credit from a previous plan goes toward the new plan on a pro-rata basis. That suggests moving up for a busy month is allowed, but the page does not say whether you can move back down mid-cycle, so confirm that with the vendor.
One more unknown is what counts as a job. The page says each plan includes a number of “jobs” and gives the example of 150 new jobs each month on Growing. It does not say whether a return visit, a recurring maintenance visit or a warranty callback creates a new job. HVAC work has a lot of these. If every maintenance-plan visit is a new job, 50 jobs goes faster than the number of customers suggests.
What do the add-ons cost on top of the plan?
The page lists a few extras. Their prices are readable, but the scraped comparison table runs several rows together, so match each one to the live page before you budget.
- ServiceM8 Phone: the card reads $19 a month, with unlimited users and “no per-user fees”. Caller ID is the headline feature, showing a client’s active quotes and work orders on screen.
- Bundles: a card for pricing, quoting and invoicing tools reads $39 a month and says it is available in Growing and up.
- AI Helper: the comparison table shows $39 a month, but only four values appear for five plans, so we cannot tell from the text which plans carry it.
- Auto time tracking and pricing strategies: each shows a $19 figure in the table, in a layout we cannot map to plans with confidence.
For budgeting, here is a simple illustrative stack. It assumes you add only the Phone at $19 a month and nothing else:
| Setup | Monthly | Over 12 months |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan, 30 jobs, 120 texts | $12.00 | $144 |
| Starter alone | $29 | $348 |
| Starter plus Phone ($19) | $48 | $576 |
| Growing alone | $79 | $948 |
| Growing plus Phone ($19) plus Bundles ($39) | $137 | $1,644 |
The last row adds the three published figures together and is a ceiling for the items we could read clearly, not a quote. The Free plan row includes the assumed SMS cost, and the others do not need one because texting is listed as free. The Phone card mentions a free trial, but the page gives both a 1-month and a 3-month figure in different places, so we cannot say which applies to you.
What does the bill look like at 1, 3, 5 and 8 users?
The monthly price does not change with headcount on a paid plan, so only job volume moves it. The Free plan is the one plan that limits users, to 1. This follows the page’s statement that ServiceM8 does not charge per user.
To show the effect, assume each technician creates 40 jobs a month. That is an illustration, not a vendor figure.
| Users | Total jobs (assumed 40 each) | Plan that fits | Monthly price | Price per user |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 40 | Starter | $29 | $29.00 |
| 3 | 120 | Growing | $79 | $26.33 |
| 5 | 200 | Premium | $149 | $29.80 |
| 8 | 320 | Premium | $149 | $18.63 |
Per-user cost is a derived figure, because ServiceM8 itself does not bill by user. It is useful for a solo tech who is thinking of hiring: going from 1 to 3 technicians moves the plan from $29 to $79, an extra $50, while hiring a fifth technician moves it to $149 only because of the extra jobs. If your new hires mostly take overflow work, the job count may rise less than this table assumes.
Which features push an HVAC tech above Starter?
Custom forms are the clearest case. The page says customers on all plans, including Free, can buy and use any form from the Form Store, which it describes as over 250 pre-made forms. It also says that building your own forms, or engaging a ServiceM8 Partner to create custom forms, needs the Growing plan or higher.
For HVAC this matters for commissioning sheets, refrigerant logs and inspection checklists. If a pre-made form fits your paperwork, you can stay on Free or Starter. If your local inspector or a commercial customer needs a specific layout, you may need Growing at $79 a month, which is $50 more than Starter. The page does not state the price of an individual purchased form, so that cost is unknown.
The feature list on the page also names proposals, job costing, asset management, recurring jobs, deposits, partial and progress invoices and supplier invoice importing. The scraped text lists these under every plan in the plan cards, so we do not read them as plan-gated, but the text is a flat list and we cannot confirm exact limits per plan. Asset management and recurring jobs are the two an HVAC maintenance business is most likely to use.
Who is ServiceM8 not a fit for?
Based only on published numbers, three types of buyer should look elsewhere or ask questions first.
- A solo tech running more than 150 jobs a month. Growing tops out at 150, and the next step is $149 for 500. Check whether repeat visits count as jobs before you decide.
- A buyer who needs a published fee for payment processing or onboarding. The page mentions mobile payments but gives no card rate, and we found no onboarding price in the text.
- A shop that wants a fixed annual price. The page describes monthly pricing and says there are no lock-ins. It publishes no annual rate in the text we read.
It also does not suit a buyer who needs a free plan for two people. The Free plan allows 1 user, and the next step is $29.
What could not be verified?
We read one vendor page and did not verify any other vendor’s pricing, so this article makes no comparison with other field service products. The following points are missing or unclear in the source text of 2026-11-01:
- How the job count treats repeat, recurring and warranty visits.
- The price of individual purchased forms from the Form Store.
- The text message cap on paid plans. The page says plans include SMS and that an overage fee applies above the cap, but the comparison lists texting as simply “Free”, with no cap or overage rate in the text.
- Which plans carry the AI Helper at $39 a month, and which add-on price belongs to auto time tracking and pricing strategies.
- Whether the Phone trial is 1 month or 3 months.
- Payment processing rates, onboarding fees, sales tax treatment and any annual billing option.
- Whether prices exclude tax. The page says prices are in USD and says nothing else about tax.
Where we give a number that the page does not state, such as texts per job or jobs per technician, it is labelled as an assumption.
What should you check before buying?
Run through this list on the live ServiceM8 pricing page and in the free trial, which the page describes as 14 days with a full list of features:
- Count your jobs for your busiest month last year, and include warranty callbacks and maintenance visits. Pick the plan above that number, not the average.
- Count texts per job in your own workflow. If it is above about 9 or 10 and you have 30 jobs or fewer, price Starter against Free using the 290-text break-even.
- Ask support how repeat visits are counted against the job cap.
- Decide whether you need custom forms. If yes, price Growing at $79 a month and not Starter.
- Confirm the price of any add-on you want, especially Phone, Bundles and the AI Helper, and whether the Phone trial is 1 or 3 months.
- Ask about card processing rates and onboarding fees, since neither is stated in the text we read.
- Confirm how plan changes work. The page says there are no lock-ins and that earlier plan credit carries over pro rata. Ask if you can step back down after a busy season.
- Check that your accounting software is supported, since the page lists accounting integrations without naming them in the text we read.
Prices were checked on 2026-11-01 and can change on the vendor’s side at any time. This article records what the vendor published on that date. It is not based on using the product, and the worked examples are calculations on assumed volumes.
Read next
Common questions
- Is ServiceM8 free for a one-person HVAC business?
- ServiceM8 publishes a Free plan at $0 a month for one user and 30 new jobs a month. Texting is the catch: the plan comparison lists 10 cents per SMS on Free, while every paid plan lists texting as free. A tech who creates 30 jobs and sends 4 texts per job would pay about $12.00 a month in texts, which is still below the $29 Starter price.
- How many jobs does the $29 Starter plan include?
- Starter costs $29 a month and includes 50 new jobs a month with unlimited users. That is 20 more jobs than the Free plan. The page does not say how a repeat visit to the same customer is counted, so an HVAC tech who books follow-up visits as separate jobs should count them as separate jobs when estimating whether 50 is enough.
- Do I pay per technician on ServiceM8?
- No. ServiceM8 states it does not charge per user. The only plan that limits users is Free, which allows 1. Starter at $29, Growing at $79, Premium at $149 and Premium Plus at $349 all list unlimited users. At 1, 3, 5 or 8 users the monthly price stays the same, and only the job count decides which plan you need.
- What happens if a solo tech goes over the monthly job limit?
- The pricing page says that if your plan resets within that time, job credits reset, otherwise you are prompted to upgrade. Only Premium Plus lists a per-job overage, at 20 cents per job beyond 1500. For Free, Starter, Growing and Premium, the published remedy is moving up a plan, so a busy month can change your bill by $50 or more.
- Do I need the Growing plan to use HVAC forms and certificates?
- Not for pre-made forms. ServiceM8 says customers on all plans, including Free, can buy and use any form in the Form Store, which it describes as over 250 pre-made forms. Building your own forms, or paying a partner to create custom ones, needs the Growing plan or higher, which is $79 a month. The price of individual purchased forms is not stated.
Sources — checked Nov 1, 2026
Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.