JobsiteCompare

Landscaping Field Service Management

LMN Budget Setup for a Small Landscaping Business

Work out which LMN plan fits your crew size, what each seat costs, and how the software fee enters your overhead budget.

By Site operator Verified Oct 13, 2026 Published Oct 13, 2026
LMN Budget Setup for a Small Landscaping Business — Field Service Management pricing comparison

A small landscaping business pays $297 a month for LMN Starter, which covers 6 people (1 office or crew lead plus 5 crew members). Professional is $648 a month for 18 people (3 leads plus 15 crew). Both are billed monthly per the LMN pricing page, after a one-time onboarding fee whose amount is not published.

Key points

  • Starter costs $297 a month and includes 6 licences, so the base price is $49.50 per user if all 6 are used.
  • Professional costs $648 a month and includes 18 licences, so the base price is $36.00 per user at full use.
  • Professional costs $351 a month more than Starter, which is $4,212 over 12 months, and adds 12 licences.
  • Extra licences and the onboarding fee are both real costs, and the vendor publishes neither amount.
  • Spread over 6,000 billable crew hours, Starter’s 12-month fee adds about $0.59 per hour to your overhead.

Two workers in Londrina, Brazil, trimming roadside grass with weed whackers.

What does LMN publish, and what is this article built on?

This article uses one source: the vendor’s LMN pricing page, scraped on 2026-10-13. This site does not use the product and has not tested it. Everything below is either a figure from that page, an assumption marked as one, or arithmetic on those two.

Close-up of a grass trimmer cutting lawn with grass clippings flying.

PlanPrice on pageLicences includedExtra licences
Starter$297/mo, billed monthly1 office/crew lead + 5 crew members (6 total)For a fee, amount not published
Professional$648/mo, billed monthly3 office/crew leads + 15 crew members (18 total)For a fee, amount not published
EnterpriseContact salesStarts at 100 usersFor a fee, amount not published

The page also states that prices carry an asterisk meaning “After a one-time onboarding fee”. It lists a launch and onboarding service described as dedicated training, and marks it “Available as add-on”.

The feature block on the page reads: Overhead Recovery with 1 active budget, customizable price lists, material and labor calculators, automated proposals and job plans, and automated invoicing. The scraped text shows these once, not per plan, so this article does not claim which plan holds which feature.

Assumptions behind every calculation

  • Prices are the monthly figures on the page, in USD, with no tax added.
  • “Users” means licences. A person who needs a login counts as one.
  • Office staff and crew leads use the lead licence type. Crew members use the crew type.
  • Months of payment are 12 unless a table says otherwise. The page does not say whether you can pause billing in winter.
  • Hours, season length and add-on fees in the tables are marked as assumptions. They are not vendor data.
  • The onboarding fee is excluded because no amount is published.

Indian gardener mowing grass by a blue shed, surrounded by leaf piles in a lush garden setting.

What does each headcount cost on LMN?

Find your total headcount in the first column. The base price divided by the number of people is the figure to compare against other tools priced per seat.

Total usersPlan that includes themMonthly baseBase per user
1Starter$297.00$297.00
2Starter$297.00$148.50
3Starter$297.00$99.00
4Starter$297.00$74.25
5Starter$297.00$59.40
6Starter$297.00$49.50
7Professional$648.00$92.57
8Professional$648.00$81.00
10Professional$648.00$64.80
12Professional$648.00$54.00
14Professional$648.00$46.29
15Professional$648.00$43.20
18Professional$648.00$36.00

Working, for three rows:

  • 6 users: $297 ÷ 6 = $49.50.
  • 7 users: Starter includes only 6, so a seventh person means either one extra licence on Starter ($297 plus an unpublished fee) or a move to Professional. Professional’s base is $648 ÷ 7 = $92.57.
  • 18 users: $648 ÷ 18 = $36.00.

The table assumes the licence types line up with your staff. The next section covers what happens when they do not.

Which plan fits my mix of office leads and crew members?

Licences come in two types, so a headcount alone can mislead. If you employ two office staff and five field workers, you are seven people but already past Starter’s single lead licence.

The matrix below shows which plan includes your mix with the fewest extra licences. Rows are office or crew lead licences needed. Columns are crew member licences needed.

Leads \ Crew5 crew10 crew15 crew20 crew
1 leadStarter, 0 extraProfessional, 0 extraProfessional, 0 extraProfessional, +5 crew
2 leadsProfessional, 0 extra*Professional, 0 extraProfessional, 0 extraProfessional, +5 crew
3 leadsProfessional, 0 extraProfessional, 0 extraProfessional, 0 extraProfessional, +5 crew
4 leadsProfessional, +1 leadProfessional, +1 leadProfessional, +1 leadProfessional, +1 lead, +5 crew

*Starter plus 1 extra lead licence also covers 2 leads and 5 crew. It is cheaper than Professional only if that one licence costs less than $351 a month, which is $648 minus $297. Most per-seat fees would be far below that, so for this particular mix Starter with one add-on is the likelier winner.

Working, for one cell: 1 lead and 10 crew. Starter includes 5 crew, so it needs 5 extra crew licences. Professional includes 15 crew, so it needs none. The deciding question is whether 5 extra licences cost more or less than $351.

That leads directly to the break-even calculation.

At what add-on fee does Professional beat Starter?

The vendor does not publish the add-on fee, so this is a reverse calculation. Professional adds 2 lead licences and 10 crew licences over Starter, which is 12 licences, for $351 more a month.

  • $648 − $297 = $351 extra per month.
  • $351 ÷ 12 = $29.25 per added licence.

If Starter’s extra licences cost more than $29.25 each, Professional is cheaper once you need all 18 seats. If they cost less, staying on Starter with add-ons is cheaper. The table uses hypothetical fees to show the shape. These fees are assumptions, not LMN prices.

Assumed add-on fee per licenceStarter + 12 extras (18 users)Professional (18 users)Cheaper option
$15.00$297 + $180 = $477$648Starter + extras
$25.00$297 + $300 = $597$648Starter + extras
$29.25$297 + $351 = $648$648Tie
$35.00$297 + $420 = $717$648Professional
$50.00$297 + $600 = $897$648Professional

Ask the vendor for the real fee, then place it on this table. The break-even moves with how many extras you need, not with a fixed headcount. At 10 users, for example, you need 4 extras on Starter: 4 × $29.25 = $117, which is below $351, so Starter plus extras stays cheaper at that size unless the fee is above $88.25 each ($351 ÷ 4).

A second reverse check uses per-user cost. Starter’s best case is $49.50 per user. Professional matches that at $648 ÷ $49.50 = 13.09 users, so 14 users is the first headcount where Professional’s base per-user figure is lower than Starter’s best case ($46.29).

What does a year of LMN cost?

The page says billed monthly. It does not say whether a minimum term applies or whether paused months are allowed. The table shows both a full year and shorter assumed paying periods, because many landscaping firms have a short season. Treat the shorter columns as a what-if, not a published option.

Plan12 months8 months (assumed)6 months (assumed)
Starter$297 × 12 = $3,564$297 × 8 = $2,376$297 × 6 = $1,782
Professional$648 × 12 = $7,776$648 × 8 = $5,184$648 × 6 = $3,888

There is no year-over-year price comparison here. The scraped text carries one date, and this site has no earlier LMN price on record, so a change figure would be invented.

How does the fee fit into an overhead budget?

LMN’s page lists Overhead Recovery with one active budget, and the opening line asks whether you know what the season cost to deliver. The software fee is an overhead line like insurance or office rent, so it belongs in the budget you divide across billable hours.

Assumption for the example: a crew of 5 field workers plus 1 lead on Starter. The table varies total billable crew hours across the year, because hours drive the answer far more than the plan does.

Billable crew hours per year (assumed)Starter, 12 months ($3,564)Professional, 12 months ($7,776)
3,000$1.19 per hour$2.59 per hour
4,000$0.89 per hour$1.94 per hour
6,000$0.59 per hour$1.30 per hour
8,000$0.45 per hour$0.97 per hour

Working for the 6,000 hour row: $3,564 ÷ 6,000 = $0.594, rounded to $0.59. Professional: $7,776 ÷ 6,000 = $1.296, rounded to $1.30. Figures in the other rows are rounded to the cent.

For scale, 6,000 hours is 5 workers × 40 hours × 30 weeks. If your crew bills 4,000 hours, Starter adds $0.89 an hour. The cost matters less than whether the plan you chose actually covers your people without extras.

If you carry the one-time onboarding fee into the first year, add it to the numerator and divide again. For example, a hypothetical $500 fee on Starter over 6,000 hours adds $500 ÷ 6,000 = $0.08 per hour. The $500 is an assumption for illustration only.

What do people get wrong about LMN pricing?

Misconception 1: “$297 covers my whole crew.” It covers 6 licences. A 9-person business on Starter needs 3 extra licences at an unpublished fee, so the true bill is $297 plus 3 times that fee. At the $29.25 break-even fee it would be $297 + $87.75 = $384.75.

Misconception 2: “Starter is the cheapest way to pay per head.” Only for very small teams on a base-price basis. At 6 users it is $49.50 per user, while Professional at 18 users is $36.00. At 14 users Professional is already $46.29 per user, below Starter’s best case.

Misconception 3: “The listed price is the first-year price.” The page says the monthly prices come after a one-time onboarding fee. With the amount unpublished, your first year is at least $3,564 on Starter plus that fee.

Misconception 4: “Enterprise is the next step up from Professional.” The page says Enterprise starts at 100 users with pricing by contacting sales. A 20-person firm that outgrows Professional’s 18 licences sits between the published plans, and the cost is Professional plus extra licences, not Enterprise.

When is this estimate wrong?

  • You need a different lead mix. A business with 4 office or lead logins goes past Professional’s 3 lead licences even with only 10 people.
  • The add-on fee is high. If extra licences cost near or above $29.25 each, the Starter-plus-extras route stops being cheaper at about 18 users.
  • You pay for a short season only. The 8-month and 6-month columns above assume billing can stop, which the page does not state.
  • The feature you need is plan-specific. The scraped text lists features in one block, so this article cannot confirm that Starter includes everything you need, such as the number of active budgets beyond the one listed.
  • Taxes and promotions apply. This article adds no sales tax and assumes no discount.
  • Seasonal hires. Temporary crew members count as licences if they log in, which can push you past 6 or 18 for a few weeks.

What could not be verified?

Vendors that could not be checked today: none. For LMN itself, these items are not on the scraped page:

  • The amount of the one-time onboarding fee.
  • The price of an additional licence, for any plan.
  • Whether a minimum contract term or annual discount exists.
  • The price of the launch and onboarding add-on.
  • Which listed feature belongs to which plan.
  • Enterprise pricing, which the page gives only as “Contact sales”.

Where a figure is missing, this article leaves it out of every price column and labels any placeholder as an assumption.

What should I check before buying?

  1. Count your people by type: how many need the lead licence and how many need the crew licence, including seasonal hires.
  2. Get the extra-licence fee in writing and compare it with the $29.25 break-even above.
  3. Ask for the one-time onboarding fee and what the launch add-on costs separately.
  4. Confirm the billing term and whether billing can be paused outside the season.
  5. Ask which of Overhead Recovery, price lists, calculators, proposals and invoicing sit on the plan you are considering, and how many active budgets it allows.
  6. Recompute the per-hour overhead table with your own billable hours, using the LMN pricing page figures as of 2026-10-13 and any quote you receive.

Also worth reading: LMN Estimating Module: Pricing for Landscapers

Also worth reading: LMN True Cost for a Solo Lawn Care Business


Common questions

How much does LMN cost for a small landscaping crew?
LMN publishes $297 a month for Starter, billed monthly, which includes 1 office or crew lead licence and 5 crew member licences. That is 6 people. Professional is $648 a month with 3 leads and 15 crew, which is 18 people. A one-time onboarding fee applies and the page does not state its amount. At 6 users on Starter the base works out to $49.50 per user per month.
How many users does LMN Starter include?
Starter includes 6 licences: 1 office or crew lead and 5 crew members. The vendor says additional licences are available for a fee but publishes no fee. A business with 2 leads and 5 crew already needs one extra licence, so the real monthly bill is $297 plus an unpublished amount. Ask for the per-licence fee in writing before you choose between Starter and Professional.
Is LMN Professional cheaper per user than Starter?
At full use, yes. Starter at 6 users is $297 divided by 6, or $49.50 per user. Professional at 18 users is $648 divided by 18, or $36.00 per user. Professional's per-user cost drops below Starter's best case of $49.50 once you have 14 or more users, because $648 divided by 14 is $46.29. Below 13 users it costs more per head.
Does LMN charge an annual contract or bill monthly?
The pricing page says $297 a month and $648 a month, both labelled USD, billed monthly, with an asterisk pointing to a one-time onboarding fee. It does not say whether a minimum term applies or whether an annual plan is discounted. If you budget 12 months, Starter is $3,564 and Professional is $7,776, but confirm the term with the vendor first.
What does LMN Enterprise cost?
The vendor does not publish an Enterprise price. The page says to contact sales and describes the plan as starting at 100 users, with additional licences available for a fee. A landscaping business with fewer than 18 people is covered by Starter or Professional on published prices, so Enterprise only becomes relevant if you plan to grow by roughly a factor of five.

Sources — checked Oct 13, 2026

  1. LMN — Pricing

Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.