General Contracting Field Service Management
ServiceM8 Quote and Estimate Fees Explained
ServiceM8 lists no per-quote fee. Find which plan fits your monthly quote count, from 25 to 2,500 jobs, and what each plan costs per job.
Price correction (2026-10-20): Updated the ServiceM8 feature-price treatment and SMS comparison assumptions using the US pricing table and official pricing explanation. This note applies only to those price details; the article’s other checks and verification date are unchanged.
ServiceM8 publishes no separate fee for creating a quote or estimate. Quotes are part of every plan, from the $0 Free plan to the $349 Premium Plus plan. The cost that moves is the monthly job allowance: 30, 50, 150, 500 or 1,500+ new jobs. Whether an unaccepted quote uses one of those jobs is not stated on the pricing page.
Key points
- The ServiceM8 US pricing page lists quotes as an included essential on all five plans and shows no per-quote fee.
- Plans cost $0, $29, $79, $149 and $349 a month and cap new jobs at 30, 50, 150, 500 and 1,500+.
- Only two per-unit charges are published: 10 cents per SMS on the Free plan and 20 cents per additional job on Premium Plus.
- Paid plans have unlimited users, so a 1-user and an 8-user crew pay the same plan price.
- The page does not say whether a quote that is never accepted counts toward the job limit, so the tables below show both readings.

What are the assumptions behind these numbers?
Every figure below is arithmetic on the published plan table, not a measurement of the product. This site does not use ServiceM8 and has not tested it.

- Prices are USD per month, monthly billing, as listed on 2026-10-14. The page footer shows a 2024 copyright date, so the vendor may have changed prices since the page was last edited; the scrape date is the only date we can vouch for.
- Plan allowances: Free $0 (1 user, 30 jobs), Starter $29 (50 jobs), Growing $79 (150 jobs), Premium $149 (500 jobs), Premium Plus $349 (1,500+ jobs, 20 cents per additional job).
- “1500+” is read as 1,500 included and 20 cents for each job beyond that.
- “Worst case” means every quote opens a new job. “Won only” means only accepted quotes count. The page confirms neither, which is why both appear.
- A crew of 3 or more is assumed unless noted, so the Free plan is excluded.
- Add-ons, tax, onboarding, payment processing and any annual billing option are excluded because the page gives no figures for them.
Does ServiceM8 charge a fee for each quote or estimate?
No fee per quote is published. The pricing page says every plan includes “job cards, scheduling, quotes, invoices, email & SMS, mobile payments, and accounting integrations”. The plan price buys a bundle plus a job allowance, not a count of documents.

What the page does publish as a per-unit charge:
| Charge | Where it applies | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Text message (SMS) | Free plan only | 10 cents each |
| Text message (SMS) | Starter, Growing, Premium, Premium Plus | Free |
| Additional job | Premium Plus only | 20 cents each |
| Additional job | Free, Starter, Growing, Premium | Not published; the page says you are prompted to upgrade |
So the cost of sending quotes depends on the job count, and the job count depends on how ServiceM8 counts a quote. That is the gap this page works around.
Which plan covers my number of quotes a month?
The table below sweeps monthly job counts from 25 to 2,500 under the worst-case reading, where every quote counts as a job. Find your row; the cheapest plan that fits and the cost per job are on it.
| Jobs or quotes per month | Cheapest plan that fits | Monthly cost | Cost per job |
|---|---|---|---|
| 25 | Free (solo only) or Starter (crew) | $0 or $29 | $0 or $1.16 |
| 30 | Free (solo only) or Starter (crew) | $0 or $29 | $0 or $0.97 |
| 40 | Starter | $29 | $0.73 |
| 50 | Starter | $29 | $0.58 |
| 75 | Growing | $79 | $1.05 |
| 100 | Growing | $79 | $0.79 |
| 150 | Growing | $79 | $0.53 |
| 200 | Premium | $149 | $0.75 |
| 300 | Premium | $149 | $0.50 |
| 500 | Premium | $149 | $0.30 |
| 600 | Premium Plus | $349 | $0.58 |
| 800 | Premium Plus | $349 | $0.44 |
| 1,000 | Premium Plus | $349 | $0.35 |
| 1,500 | Premium Plus | $349 | $0.23 |
| 1,800 | Premium Plus + 300 extra jobs | $409 | $0.23 |
| 2,000 | Premium Plus + 500 extra jobs | $449 | $0.22 |
| 2,500 | Premium Plus + 1,000 extra jobs | $549 | $0.22 |
Working for three rows:
- 75 jobs: Starter stops at 50, so the next plan is Growing at $79. $79 / 75 = $1.05 per job.
- 300 jobs: Growing stops at 150, so Premium at $149. $149 / 300 = $0.50 per job.
- 1,800 jobs: 1,800 - 1,500 = 300 extra jobs. 300 x $0.20 = $60. $349 + $60 = $409. $409 / 1,800 = $0.23 per job.
The cost per job is not smooth. It jumps up at 75 and 200 jobs, right after each plan limit, because you pay for the next tier before you fill it.
How does win rate change the plan I need?
If only accepted quotes count as jobs, a low win rate lets you send many more quotes on the same plan. The table crosses quotes sent with two readings of the job count. Each cell shows the plan and its monthly price for a crew of 3 or more.
| Quotes sent per month | Worst case: all quotes count | Won only at 50% win rate | Won only at 25% win rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 40 | Starter, $29 | Starter, $29 (20 jobs) | Starter, $29 (10 jobs) |
| 100 | Growing, $79 | Starter, $29 (50 jobs) | Starter, $29 (25 jobs) |
| 200 | Premium, $149 | Growing, $79 (100 jobs) | Starter, $29 (50 jobs) |
| 400 | Premium, $149 | Premium, $149 (200 jobs) | Growing, $79 (100 jobs) |
| 800 | Premium Plus, $349 | Premium, $149 (400 jobs) | Premium, $149 (200 jobs) |
Working for the 200-quote row: at a 50% win rate, 200 x 0.50 = 100 jobs, which exceeds Starter’s 50 and fits Growing’s 150. At 25%, 200 x 0.25 = 50 jobs, which exactly fills Starter.
The gap between the first and third columns at 800 quotes is $349 against $149, a difference of $200 a month or $2,400 a year. Whether that gap exists is a single question for the vendor.
This table counts quotes only. If you also run repeat or direct jobs that never had a quote, add them to the job count before reading the row.
How many quotes can each plan absorb?
To work backward from a plan, divide its job cap by your win rate. This reverse table assumes only accepted quotes count; the “100%” column is the worst case.
| Plan (jobs per month) | Quotes at 100% counted | At 50% win rate | At 33% win rate | At 25% win rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free (30) | 30 | 60 | 90 | 120 |
| Starter (50) | 50 | 100 | 150 | 200 |
| Growing (150) | 150 | 300 | 450 | 600 |
| Premium (500) | 500 | 1,000 | 1,500 | 2,000 |
| Premium Plus (1,500) | 1,500 | 3,000 | 4,500 | 6,000 |
The 33% column uses one win in three. Working for Growing at 33%: 150 / (1/3) = 450 quotes.
A second reverse view is what each step up the ladder costs per extra job of capacity.
| Step | Extra monthly price | Extra job capacity | Price per extra job |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free to Starter | $29 | 20 (30 to 50) | $1.45 |
| Starter to Growing | $50 | 100 (50 to 150) | $0.50 |
| Growing to Premium | $70 | 350 (150 to 500) | $0.20 |
| Premium to Premium Plus | $200 | 1,000 (500 to 1,500) | $0.20 |
The capacity price falls from $1.45 to $0.20 as you move up, and the Premium Plus overage of 20 cents matches the last two steps. A business at 1,700 jobs is paying the same marginal rate whether it sits on Premium Plus or is moving up to it.
Does ServiceM8 charge per user for a crew?
No. The page answers this directly: “we don’t charge per user”. The only plan that limits users is Free, at 1. The table shows what a crew pays on each paid plan, and what that is per head.
| Users | Starter ($29) | Growing ($79) | Premium ($149) | Premium Plus ($349) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $29.00 | $79.00 | $149.00 | $349.00 |
| 3 | $9.67 each | $26.33 each | $49.67 each | $116.33 each |
| 5 | $5.80 each | $15.80 each | $29.80 each | $69.80 each |
| 8 | $3.63 each | $9.88 each | $18.63 each | $43.63 each |
Working for 8 users on Starter: $29 / 8 = $3.625, rounded to $3.63. The monthly total never changes with crew size; only the per-head figure falls. A larger crew therefore does not push you up a plan. A larger job count does.
Is the Free plan really free once you send texts?
Free has a $0 base fee and texts at $0.10 each. The table compares that SMS bill only with Starter’s $29 base fee; paid-plan SMS allowance and overage terms were not confirmed.
| SMS sent per month | Free plan text cost | Starter base fee only | Free SMS bill vs base fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| 50 | $5.00 | $29 | Below |
| 100 | $10.00 | $29 | Below |
| 200 | $20.00 | $29 | Below |
| 290 | $29.00 | $29 | Equal |
| 500 | $50.00 | $29 | Above |
Free-plan SMS costs $0.10 each, so 290 texts cost $29. This equals Starter’s base monthly fee only. The US table marks paid-plan SMS as Free, but the official FAQ describes a monthly SMS cap and overage fees. The applicable paid allowance and overage rate were not confirmed, so this arithmetic does not establish a plan-cost break-even or unlimited free SMS.
What common misconceptions does the pricing page correct?
“ServiceM8 charges per quote, so more estimates cost more.” The page lists no per-quote fee. At 200 jobs you pay the Premium price of $149 whether the month held 150 quotes or 450. Cost steps at plan limits (50, 150, 500, 1,500), not at each document.
“Per-user pricing means an 8-person crew costs 8 times a solo user.” There are no per-user fees. On Growing, 1 user pays $79 and 8 users pay $79. The $9.88 per user in the table is a division, not a charge.
“The Free plan covers a small team.” It is limited to 1 user. A two-person business needs Starter at $29, an increase of $29 a month, or $348 a year.
“Going over the limit triggers a fee.” On four of the five plans, the page describes an upgrade prompt, not a per-job charge. The 20 cent overage is published for Premium Plus only.
When is this estimate wrong?
The figures break down in these cases:
- Quotes count as jobs. If an unaccepted quote opens a job, the “won only” columns are too low and the worst-case column is correct. The page does not settle this.
- Premium Plus reading. If “1500+” means something other than 1,500 included, the rows from 1,500 to 2,500 shift. At 2,500 jobs the table shows $549; a different threshold changes that.
- Optional services. Auto Time Tracking is included and Bundles is included from Growing upward. Optional Phone starts at $19/month; final quote and usage charges are separate from these base figures.
- Free trial and promotions. The page states a 14-day free trial and a Learning Roadmap that can unlock higher job and SMS limits or plan upgrades. Those could lower real costs below the table.
- Mixed volume. If your job count swings seasonally, a single month above a limit means an upgrade prompt. The page says the job credits reset if the monthly plan resets, but not how a mid-month upgrade is billed beyond “pro-rata”.
- Forms. The page says building your own Forms needs Growing or higher. A contractor who needs custom inspection forms cannot use Starter, whatever the job count says.
- Tax and payment processing. Neither is covered on the page and neither appears in any table here.
What could not be verified?
The following is not stated in the source text, so it is left out of every table:
- Whether a quote that is not accepted counts as a new job.
- Any per-quote, per-estimate or per-document fee beyond the items listed above.
- Whether any purchased forms or optional services are needed for the workflow. Bundles itself is included on Growing or higher.
- The exact price of ServiceM8 Phone. The page says “Unlimited Users”, “no per-user fees” and “From $19/mo” nearby, but shows a 1-month free trial in one place and a 3-month free trial in another, so the terms are inconsistent.
- Annual billing discounts, onboarding fees, sales tax and payment processing rates.
- Job overage fees for Free, Starter, Growing and Premium.
- Any prices for other vendors. No other vendor’s page was supplied, so this article does not compare ServiceM8 against another product.
What should you check before buying?
- Ask ServiceM8 in writing whether a draft, sent or declined quote consumes a new job. This single answer decides which column of the crossed table you should read.
- Count last year’s quotes and jobs by month. Use your highest month, not your average, against the 50, 150, 500 and 1,500 limits.
- Check your win rate on the last 50 bids. At 25% against 50%, the quote volume a plan can hold doubles.
- Count the people who need a login. Two or more removes the Free plan.
- Model Free-plan texts at $0.10 each and obtain the paid SMS allowance and overage terms before comparing final bills; 290 texts only reaches Starter’s base fee.
- List the add-ons you need (time tracking, phone, custom Forms) and get their current price from the ServiceM8 pricing page before you add them to the plan price.
- Use the free trial. The page says you get full access to all features during the trial, and that you only give payment details if you subscribe.
The page also states there are no lock-ins, with credit from a previous plan applied pro-rata to a new plan, so moving up a tier after a busy month does not appear to carry a penalty on the published terms.
Read next
- ServiceM8 Forms and Automation Costs Explained
- ServiceM8: What the Base Plan Doesn’t Include
- ServiceTitan Plan Tiers for General Contractors
- ServiceTitan’s Usage-Based Fees Explained
Also worth reading: ServiceM8 Pricing for a Crew of 15 Technicians
Also worth reading: ServiceM8 GPS Tracking Feature Unlock Cost
Common questions
- Does ServiceM8 charge per quote?
- The US pricing page lists no per-quote or per-estimate fee. Quotes are named as an included essential on every plan, from the $0 Free plan to the $349 Premium Plus plan. The only per-unit charges published are 10 cents per SMS on the Free plan and 20 cents per additional job on Premium Plus. What the page does not say is whether an unaccepted quote uses up one of the monthly new jobs, so confirm that with the vendor before relying on a low tier.
- How many quotes can I send on the ServiceM8 Starter plan?
- Starter costs $29 a month and includes 50 new jobs per month. If every quote counts as a job, that is 50 quotes. If only accepted quotes count and you win 50% of bids, it is 100 quotes. At a 25% win rate it is 200 quotes. The page does not state which reading applies, so treat 50 as the safe figure until the vendor confirms how quotes are counted.
- Is ServiceM8 free for a small contractor?
- Yes, with limits. The Free plan is $0 a month for 1 user and 30 jobs per month. Texts cost 10 cents each, so 100 texts adds $10. A crew of 2 or more cannot share it, because the page says only the Free plan limits users. A solo contractor sending fewer than 30 quotes a month and few texts can stay at $0; a team needs Starter at $29.
- Does ServiceM8 charge per user?
- No. The page states it does not charge per user, and lists Unlimited users on Starter, Growing, Premium and Premium Plus. A paid plan costs the same for 1, 3, 5 or 8 users. On Starter that is $29 in total, or $3.63 per user at 8 users. Only the Free plan limits you to 1 user.
- What happens if I go over my ServiceM8 job limit?
- The page says that if your monthly plan has not reset, you will be prompted to upgrade your plan. The only published per-job overage is on Premium Plus, at 20 cents per additional job beyond 1,500. At 1,800 jobs that is 300 extra jobs, $60, on top of $349, so $409 for the month.
Sources — checked Oct 14, 2026
Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.