JobsiteCompare

Plumbing Accounting

ServiceM8 vs ServiceTitan: Monthly vs Annual Billing for Plumbers

Compares ServiceM8's published monthly plan prices against ServiceTitan's request-only pricing, with per-user cost math for plumbing crews.

By TraderX Verified Aug 15, 2026 Published Aug 12, 2026 Updated Aug 15, 2026
ServiceM8 vs ServiceTitan: Monthly vs Annual Billing for Plumbers — Accounting pricing comparison

ServiceM8 publishes monthly prices only, from $0 to $349 a month, with no annual billing tier stated anywhere on its pricing page. ServiceTitan publishes no dollar figures at all, monthly or annual, for either of its two plumbing packages. A monthly-vs-annual comparison cannot be completed from what either vendor has published today.

ServiceM8: monthly pricing, no annual option shown

ServiceM8’s pricing page lists five tiers, all billed monthly:

Detailed view of industrial steel pipes and a gas meter on a brick wall.

PlanMonthly priceUsersJobs per monthNotes
Free$0/mo13010 AI uses/day, self-serve support
Starter$29/moUnlimited50Unlimited AI uses/day, 24/7 support
Growing$79/moUnlimited150Same feature set as Starter, higher job cap
Premium$149/moUnlimited500Same feature set, higher job cap
Premium Plus$349/moUnlimited1500+Additional jobs billed at 20c each

The page states there are “no lock-ins” and that credit from a previous plan carries to a new plan pro-rata if you upgrade or downgrade. Nowhere on the page is there a toggle, table row, or FAQ answer describing an annual rate or an annual discount. Treat any “annual price” for ServiceM8 that you see elsewhere as unverified against this source.

Because billing is monthly with no lock-in, a plumbing business can move between tiers as job volume changes without waiting out an annual term. In practice this means a shop can start on Free while testing the software with 1 user and up to 30 jobs a month, move to Starter once a second technician joins or job volume crosses 30 a month, and keep stepping up to Growing, Premium, or Premium Plus as job counts cross each plan’s cap (50, 150, 500, 1500+). The pro-rata credit language on the pricing page implies that switching mid-cycle does not require paying for two plans in the same month, though the page does not spell out the exact proration formula, so confirm the exact credit amount with ServiceM8 support before switching if the timing matters to your bookkeeping.

ServiceTitan: no published price, monthly or annual

ServiceTitan’s pricing page names two plumbing-relevant packages, Essentials and The Works, and lists the same feature categories under both: Dispatching, Scheduling, Call Booking, Invoicing, Pricebook, Mobile Estimates, Payroll Management, Advanced Reporting, Commission Tracking, Customizable Memberships. Every plan block ends in a “Request Pricing” button rather than a figure. The page’s one pricing statement is a general line: “Our per-technician pricing is designed to fit your business and goals, at any size.” No per-technician rate, no monthly total, and no annual rate appears anywhere on the page.

This means ServiceTitan cannot be placed in a monthly-vs-annual comparison table. Any number attached to ServiceTitan in this article would be invented, so none is given. The “Request Pricing” flow described on the page functions as a sales-qualification step rather than a self-serve checkout: a plumbing business fills in a form and is contacted by a representative, who determines the quote based on technician count and package tier. Because that process happens off the public page, this article cannot state how long that quote process takes, what documentation the request form requires, or whether the resulting quote is offered as monthly, annual, or both — all of that would need to be confirmed directly with ServiceTitan.

What the numbers actually let you calculate

Because ServiceM8’s paid plans give unlimited users at one flat monthly fee, the cost per technician falls as a plumbing crew grows. Here is that arithmetic on the published monthly figures:

A skilled technician works with a welding torch in an industrial setting, highlighting craftsmanship.

Starter ($29/mo):

  • 1 user: $29.00/user
  • 3 users: $9.67/user
  • 5 users: $5.80/user
  • 8 users: $3.63/user

Growing ($79/mo):

  • 1 user: $79.00/user
  • 3 users: $26.33/user
  • 5 users: $15.80/user
  • 8 users: $9.88/user

Premium ($149/mo):

  • 1 user: $149.00/user
  • 3 users: $49.67/user
  • 5 users: $29.80/user
  • 8 users: $18.63/user

Premium Plus ($349/mo):

  • 1 user: $349.00/user
  • 3 users: $116.33/user
  • 5 users: $69.80/user
  • 8 users: $43.63/user

Because no annual rate is published, the only annual figure that can be stated with confidence is 12 times the monthly price, with no discount assumed:

  • Starter: $29 × 12 = $348/year
  • Growing: $79 × 12 = $948/year
  • Premium: $149 × 12 = $1,788/year
  • Premium Plus: $349 × 12 = $4,188/year

Laid out as the gap between tiers, moving up one level costs an extra $600/year from Starter to Growing ($948 − $348), an extra $840/year from Growing to Premium ($1,788 − $948), and an extra $2,400/year from Premium to Premium Plus ($4,188 − $1,788). A shop deciding whether to upgrade should weigh that annual gap against the value of the extra job capacity (50 → 150 → 500 → 1500+ jobs/month) rather than against any per-seat cost, since seats are unlimited on every paid tier.

If a job overage happens on Premium Plus, add 20 cents per job over 1500 to that annual total; ServiceM8’s page does not state an overage fee for the other four tiers, only that a job-credit reset or an upgrade prompt occurs. The Free plan’s SMS overage is stated separately at 10 cents per SMS once the plan’s SMS allowance is used; paid plans include SMS at no extra charge according to the same comparison table.

The comparison table also lists Auto Time Tracking and Bundles as $19/mo add-ons available on top of any plan. Annualized at 12 months with no discount stated, that is $19 × 12 = $228/year per add-on, or $456/year if a shop takes both add-ons. Added to the base plan cost, a Starter subscription with both add-ons would run $348 + $456 = $804/year, still calculated only from the monthly figures published on the page since no bundled annual rate is shown.

None of this arithmetic can be run for ServiceTitan, since no monthly figure exists to multiply by 12 or divide by user count.

What could not be verified

  • ServiceTitan monthly price: not published. The page states pricing is per-technician but gives no rate.
  • ServiceTitan annual price or discount: not published, and no annual billing option is mentioned on the page at all.
  • ServiceM8 annual billing option: not mentioned anywhere on the ServiceM8 pricing page. Only monthly billing is described.
  • ServiceM8 overage fees outside Premium Plus: the page states job credits reset or the account is prompted to upgrade, but does not give a per-job overage dollar figure for Starter, Growing, or Premium.
  • ServiceTitan request-a-quote process: the page does not state how long a quote takes to arrive, what business documentation is requested, or the reasons a request might be declined or delayed; none of that is described on the public pricing page.
  • ServiceM8 plan-switch proration mechanics: the page confirms credit carries over pro-rata but does not give the formula, so the exact dollar credit for a mid-cycle upgrade or downgrade is not verifiable from this source alone.

Both vendor pages were fetched on 2026-08-12. If either vendor adds annual pricing later, the figures above will be out of date; check the live pages before quoting them to a client or using them in a purchase decision.

What to check before you buy

  1. Ask ServiceTitan for a written, itemized quote that states the per-technician rate, whether it is billed monthly or annually, and whether Essentials or The Works is being quoted. The public page gives no baseline to compare that quote against, so get quotes from more than one rep if possible. When the quote arrives, ask the rep to also confirm the effective monthly cost per technician at your current crew size, so it can be compared directly against the ServiceM8 per-user figures above.
  2. Confirm with ServiceM8 sales or support whether an annual billing option exists off-page. Some vendors offer annual terms only through a sales conversation rather than the public pricing page; the page reviewed here shows none. Also ask support to spell out the pro-rata credit formula in writing before you upgrade or downgrade mid-cycle, since the page confirms the credit exists but not how it is calculated.
  3. Count your job volume, not just your user count, when picking a ServiceM8 tier. The plans are gated by jobs per month (30, 50, 150, 500, 1500+), not by seats, so a two-person crew doing 200 jobs a month needs Premium, not Starter, regardless of headcount. If your job count sits close to a tier boundary, budget for the possibility of hitting the Premium Plus overage rate of 20 cents per job, which on 100 extra jobs in a month adds $20 to that month’s bill.
  4. Add SMS and add-on costs to the base price. ServiceM8’s comparison table shows Auto Time Tracking and Bundles as $19/mo add-ons on top of the plan price, and the Free plan carries a 10-cent SMS overage once its allowance is used. Over a year, one $19/mo add-on adds $228, so factor that into any Starter-vs-Growing-vs-Premium decision rather than comparing base plan prices alone.
  5. Get the ServiceTitan quote in writing before assuming it is cheaper or more expensive than ServiceM8 at your crew size. Per-technician pricing with no published rate makes head-to-head comparison impossible until a real quote is in hand.
  6. Re-check both pricing pages close to your purchase date. Field service software vendors change tier names, job caps, and fees without much notice, and this article reflects only what each page stated on 2026-08-12.

Massive concrete pipes aligned at a construction site during sunset, showcasing an industrial landscape.

Also worth reading: Kickserv vs ServiceTitan: Invoicing Plan Costs for Plumbers

Also worth reading: ServiceTitan vs FieldPulse: QuickBooks Sync Add-On Costs

Also worth reading: Cheapest Service Fusion Setup for a Budget-Conscious Plumber

Also worth reading: Service Fusion Pricing for a 15-Person Plumbing Company

Also worth reading: ServiceM8 Charges by Job Volume: What That Costs

Also worth reading: Tradify vs ServiceM8: Solo Plumber Annual Cost

Also worth reading: ServiceM8 SMS and Add-On Charges Explained


Common questions

Does ServiceM8 offer an annual billing discount for plumbers?
The ServiceM8 pricing page lists only monthly prices for each plan (Free $0/mo, Starter $29/mo, Growing $79/mo, Premium $149/mo, Premium Plus $349/mo). No annual billing option or annual discount rate is published on that page, so a plumbing business cannot currently confirm annual savings from the source page alone. Until ServiceM8 publishes an annual rate, the only defensible annual figure is 12 times the monthly price shown above, with zero assumed discount.
How much does ServiceTitan cost for a 5-person plumbing crew?
ServiceTitan's pricing page does not publish dollar figures for its Essentials or The Works packages. It states pricing is per-technician and directs buyers to Request Pricing. There is no way to calculate a 5-user cost from the published page; a contractor would need a direct quote from ServiceTitan, and should ask the rep to confirm whether the quoted rate is per technician per month or per technician per year before comparing it to any competitor.
Is ServiceM8 priced per user?
No. ServiceM8's FAQ states it does not charge per user. The Free plan is capped at 1 user, but every paid plan (Starter, Growing, Premium, Premium Plus) allows unlimited user logins at the same flat monthly price, so adding staff lowers the effective cost per user. A five-tech crew on Starter, for example, pays $29/mo total, which works out to $5.80 per technician per month — cheaper per head than a two-tech crew on the same plan.
What happens if a plumbing business exceeds its ServiceM8 job limit?
ServiceM8's FAQ says that if the monthly plan resets before the limit is reached again, job credits reset automatically; otherwise the account is prompted to upgrade. On the Premium Plus plan specifically, additional jobs beyond the 1500+ included are billed at 20 cents per job. As an example of that math: a shop that logs 1,600 jobs in one month on Premium Plus would be billed for 100 jobs over the included amount, adding $20.00 to that month's $349 base fee, for a total of $369 that billing cycle.
Does ServiceTitan publish a price list?
No. The ServiceTitan pricing page lists feature sets for its Essentials and The Works packages (dispatching, scheduling, call booking, invoicing, pricebook, mobile estimates, payroll management, advanced reporting, commission tracking, customizable memberships) but every plan links to a Request Pricing form rather than a dollar amount. Because no number is published, none of this article's per-user or annual math can be extended to ServiceTitan; only ServiceM8's published figures can be calculated with confidence.

Sources — checked Aug 15, 2026

  1. ServiceM8 — Pricing
  2. ServiceTitan — Pricing

Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.