JobsiteCompare

General Contracting Field Service Management

Kickserv: Hidden Costs Beyond the Monthly Subscription

Breaks down Kickserv's Start, Run and Scale plan prices, the Kickback discount rules, and what the vendor has not published.

By TraderX Verified Aug 29, 2026 Published Aug 14, 2026 Updated Aug 29, 2026
Kickserv: Hidden Costs Beyond the Monthly Subscription — Field Service Management pricing comparison

Kickserv’s advertised monthly fee is only part of the bill. The published plans are flat-rate for a fixed user count rather than per-seat, a Premium tier is referenced but never priced, and a 5% “Kickback” discount is tied to a monthly payment-processing minimum that most small teams won’t hit without planning for it. This article works through what is actually published, and what is not.

What Kickserv publishes today

Kickserv lists three named plans on its pricing page, each capped at a fixed number of users rather than priced per seat.

An adult male construction worker walks along an outdoor construction site wall.

PlanUser capMonthly priceAnnual price (20% off)
Start5 users$60/mo$48/mo billed annually
Run10 users$119/mo$95.20/mo billed annually
Scale20 users$199/mo$159.20/mo billed annually

The annual figures above are arithmetic, not a separately published annual sticker price: Kickserv states “save 20% with annual subscription” on each tier, so the annual monthly-equivalent is the listed monthly price multiplied by 0.8. Over a year that works out to $576 for Start, $1,142.40 for Run, and $1,910.40 for Scale, again derived by multiplying the annual-equivalent monthly rate by 12.

Start includes an embeddable contact form, automated email and text reminders, over 20 business reports, time tracking, expense tracking, and QuickBooks Online accounting integration. The page does not restate which of these carry through to Run and Scale, or list additional features unlocked at the higher tiers, beyond the higher user cap.

Twenty-plus reports is a meaningful floor for a field service platform at this price point — job costing, technician utilization and payment reconciliation reports are the kind of output some competitors gate behind mid-tier plans, so seeing them bundled into the $60/mo Start plan is worth noting when comparing against alternatives that charge extra for reporting modules.

To put the sticker prices in perspective over a longer horizon: running a solo operation on Start for three years costs $60 × 36 = $2,160 on monthly billing, or $48 × 36 = $1,728 on annual billing — a $432 gap that Kickserv’s 20% figure implies but never states outright as a dollar amount. The same math applied to Run over three years puts monthly billing at $119 × 36 = $4,284 versus $95.20 × 36 = $3,427.20 on an annual plan, a $856.80 difference. On Scale, three years of monthly billing totals $199 × 36 = $7,164, against $159.20 × 36 = $5,731.20 annually, a $1,432.80 gap in favor of annual billing.

Cost at different team sizes

Because Kickserv prices by user-count tier rather than per seat, the real cost per user changes sharply depending on where a contractor’s headcount falls relative to the caps.

  • 1 user: Start plan required regardless of headcount below 5. Cost: $60/mo, or $12/mo per user if run solo.
  • 3 users: Still on Start. Cost: $60/mo, or $20/mo per user.
  • 5 users: Still on Start, at the cap. Cost: $60/mo, or $12/mo per user — the cheapest per-user rate Start offers.
  • 8 users: Exceeds Start’s 5-user cap, so the next published tier is Run. Cost: $119/mo, or $14.88/mo per user.

A team growing from 5 to 6 users faces a jump from $60/mo to $119/mo under the published tiers, since Kickserv’s page shows no per-seat add-on for exceeding a cap by one or two people. That is a near-doubling of the bill for one additional user, and it is the kind of step-cost that a flat monthly number on a homepage does not communicate.

At 20 users, Scale costs $199/mo, or $9.95/mo per user — the lowest per-user rate across the three published tiers. Contractors near a tier boundary (4-5 users, or 9-10 users) should budget for the next tier’s full price before they need it, since Kickserv’s page gives no indication of prorated or incremental seat pricing.

Extending the per-user math further: a 10-user shop sitting exactly at Run’s cap pays $119 ÷ 10 = $11.90 per user per month, cheaper than the $14.88 per-user rate at 8 users because more of the flat fee is spread across more seats. A 15-user shop on Scale pays $199 ÷ 15 = $13.27 per user, more expensive per head than a fully-loaded 20-user Scale account at $9.95 per user. The pattern holds throughout: within any given tier, cost per user falls as headcount rises toward that tier’s cap, then resets upward the moment a team crosses into the next tier by even one person.

The Kickback discount: real, but conditional

Kickserv’s Kickback program offers a 5% discount on the monthly plan fee to Start, Run, Scale and Premium customers who process a minimum amount in online payments through the platform each month.

A female engineer in workwear checks her tablet on a construction site, highlighting modern engineering practices.

PlanMonthly processing minimumDiscount
Start$1,0005% off monthly fee
Run$2,0005% off monthly fee
Scale$3,0005% off monthly fee

On a monthly Start plan, 5% off $60 is $3/mo, or $36/year, in exchange for running at least $1,000 of card payments through Kickserv every month ($12,000/year in processed volume). On Run, 5% off $119 is $5.95/mo, against a $2,000 monthly processing floor. On Scale, 5% off $199 is $9.95/mo, against a $3,000 monthly floor.

For annual-plan customers, the page states the monthly processing minimum is multiplied by 12, meaning an annual Start customer would need to process $12,000 in a single month to qualify, rather than $1,000 spread across the year. The page does not clarify whether that $12,000 figure is a one-time check at signup, a recurring monthly test, or an annual total — contractors on annual billing should confirm the mechanics directly with Kickserv support before assuming the discount applies to them.

Compounded over a year, the Start plan’s Kickback discount saves $36, as already noted; over three years on a monthly billing cycle that totals $108 in discount value, assuming the $1,000 monthly processing minimum is met every month without interruption. The Run plan’s $5.95/mo saving totals $71.40 over a year and $214.20 over three years under the same steady-processing assumption. The Scale plan’s $9.95/mo saving totals $119.40 over a year and $358.20 over three years. These figures depend entirely on hitting the processing minimum every single month; missing the threshold in any given month presumably forfeits that month’s discount, though the page does not state whether a missed month is a one-time lapse or triggers removal from the program entirely — another point to confirm directly with Kickserv before budgeting the discount as guaranteed income.

The Kickback discount is worth doing arithmetic on before committing to online payment processing through Kickserv specifically: a $3-10/mo saving only makes sense if the business was going to route that payment volume through some processor anyway, and the page does not publish Kickserv’s own card-processing transaction fees, so the net saving after processing costs cannot be calculated from what is published.

What could not be verified

  • Premium plan pricing. The Kickback section names “Start, Run, Scale, and Premium users” as eligible for the discount, but no Premium plan price, user cap or feature list appears anywhere on the pricing page we reviewed. Do not assume Premium sits above Scale in price without confirming directly with Kickserv.
  • A garbled fragment reading “$50/m)” appears immediately after the Run plan’s price and annual-savings line in the scraped text, with no surrounding context to indicate what it refers to. We are not guessing at its meaning; treat it as unresolved and ask Kickserv sales to clarify if it matters to your decision.
  • Card-processing transaction fees. The page describes the Kickback discount mechanic but does not state Kickserv’s actual per-transaction or percentage processing fees, so the true cost of routing payments through the platform cannot be calculated from this source.
  • Per-seat pricing above a tier’s cap. No published rate exists for adding a single user beyond a plan’s limit (for example, a 6th user on Start); the only documented option is upgrading to the next full tier.

What to check before buying

  • Confirm current headcount against the 5/10/20 user caps, and ask what happens at the boundary (a 6th or 11th user) before signing, since no incremental per-seat rate is published.
  • Ask Kickserv directly for Premium plan pricing and features if a sales rep suggests it, since it is not on the public pricing page.
  • Get written clarification on how the annual Kickback processing minimum is actually tested (single month vs. spread across the year) before relying on the 5% discount in a budget.
  • Ask for Kickserv’s actual card-processing transaction fees before assuming the Kickback discount produces a net saving, since those fees are not published on the pricing page.
  • Verify which features (time tracking, expense tracking, QuickBooks integration) carry through unchanged from Start to Run and Scale, since the page only itemises the feature list once, under Start.

Architect reviewing floor plans indoors, wearing safety gear, focused on construction planning.

For US tax treatment of business software subscriptions and payment-processing fees as deductible expenses, see the IRS guidance on business expenses.

Also worth reading: Best CRM for Roofing Contractors: Published Pricing

Also worth reading: ServiceTitan Pricing for a 2-Person Startup Crew

Also worth reading: Kickserv Pricing for a 20-Person Team

Also worth reading: Kickserv Plan Tiers Compared: Lite vs Standard vs Premium

Also worth reading: ServiceTitan’s Usage-Based Fees Explained

Also worth reading: FieldPulse SMS and Dispatch Fees: What’s Included and Extra

Also worth reading: Kickserv’s Per-User Pricing: How Costs Scale

Also worth reading: ServiceTitan True Cost After Onboarding Fees and Add-Ons

Also worth reading: FieldPulse: What You Actually Pay Beyond the Base Plan

Also worth reading: Service Fusion vs Kickserv: HVAC Dispatch Costs Compared

Also worth reading: Buildertrend’s Cost Per Active Job Explained


Common questions

How much does Kickserv cost per month?
Kickserv publishes three monthly plans: Start at $60/mo for up to 5 users, Run at $119/mo for up to 10 users, and Scale at $199/mo for up to 20 users. All three carry a 20% discount if paid annually instead of monthly. There is no published per-user add-on price for exceeding a tier's user cap. Over a full year, that puts Start at $720 on monthly billing versus $576 on annual billing, Run at $1,428 versus $1,142.40, and Scale at $2,388 versus $1,910.40 — the annual-billing savings widen the longer a contractor stays on the platform, since the 20% discount compounds with every additional billing cycle rather than being a one-time credit.
What is Kickserv Kickback and how much does it save?
Kickback is a 5% discount on the monthly plan fee, available to Start, Run, Scale and Premium users who process a minimum dollar amount in online payments each month. The published minimums are $1,000 for Start, $2,000 for Run and $3,000 for Scale. Annual-plan customers must hit that minimum multiplied by 12. In dollar terms, that 5% works out to $3/mo on Start, $5.95/mo on Run and $9.95/mo on Scale — small individually, but worth roughly $36, $71.40 and $119.40 respectively over a full year of consistent qualifying volume, and roughly triple that over three years if the processing minimum is met every month without a gap.
Is there a Kickserv Premium plan?
The pricing page names a Premium tier as eligible for the Kickback discount, but does not list a Premium price, user limit or feature set anywhere on the page we reviewed. Treat Premium as unverified until Kickserv publishes its terms directly. Since Start, Run and Scale already span 5, 10 and 20 users at $60, $119 and $199/mo respectively, a prospective Premium buyer should ask sales specifically where Premium sits relative to Scale's $199/mo and 20-user cap, and whether it adds a higher user ceiling, additional automation, or purely support-tier perks — none of which can be inferred from the published page.
Does Kickserv charge extra for QuickBooks integration?
The page lists QuickBooks Online accounting integration as an included feature on the Start plan and above, with no separate line-item fee shown. QuickBooks Desktop is listed separately under Integrations, but no added cost is stated for either. That means the $60/mo Start price already appears to cover Online sync for a solo operator, which is worth flagging when comparing against competitors that charge a separate monthly add-on fee just for accounting sync — confirm with Kickserv sales whether QuickBooks Desktop carries the same no-added-fee treatment, since the page's phrasing distinguishes the two products without repeating the pricing language.
What happens if my team grows past Kickserv's user limit?
Kickserv sells its three plans as flat fees for a fixed number of users (5, 10 or 20), not per-seat pricing. The page does not state what happens if a team needs, for example, 12 users under the Run cap of 10. Confirm directly with Kickserv before signing if your headcount sits between tiers. Based on the published tiers alone, a 6-person crew would need to move from Start's $60/mo to Run's $119/mo — nearly double the bill for a single additional seat — since there is no documented per-seat overage rate to soften that jump.

Sources — checked Aug 29, 2026

  1. Kickserv — Pricing
  2. Kickserv — Kickback Program

Prices and plan limits are taken from the pages above on the date shown. Vendors change them without notice. Confirm on the vendor's own site before purchasing. We have not used these products — see our methodology.